Skip to main content

Zag Links: Home

Library Logins Demystified

Many library resources and services require unique usernames and passwords.  Here is an explanation of which systems require which access information.

If you have any questions, the reference desk is staffed during all open library hours. Call 509-313-5931, or chat with us from our library homepage or text message at 509-730-5979. 

To access full-text databases or other resources such as Films on Demand or Anatomy Flashcards, select the database from the Databases List or from a link on a Research Guide. Sign in using the same username and password you use for Zagmail. If you forgot or need to update this password, go to the Gonzaga Password Reset page.

Our InterLibrary Loan software, ILLiad, requires a unique logon that you create when you register.  The username and password can be anything you select, but we do not recommend using your email address as a username as it is too long for the system to handle.  If you have never used ILLiad before, follow the links for “First Time Users” to create your login.  If you have used it before, but have forgotten your username or password you can contact the ILL department at 509-313-3824.

Log into your library account through Gonzaga Library Search, using your Gonzaga username and password.

Get access the full contents of Gonzaga Library Search, and access your library account using your Gonzaga username and password.

Our citation management software, RefWorks, requires a unique logon that you create when you register. The username and password can be anything you select. If you are creating a new RefWorks account, be sure the account creation window says "Create an account at Gonzaga University" in order to get all the benefits of RefWorks provided by Foley Center Library. If you forget your username or password, contact RefWorks to reset by emailing support@refworks.com. The "Citation and RefWorks" tab of the Library Tutorials guide provides  tutorials and guides to using RefWorks and its Microsoft Word plugin, Write-N-Cite.

Go to study room reservations for a tutorial showing how to reserve a study room. You will need your student ID number.

Loading

News Sources

Local News

The Inlander
The Pacific Northwest Inlander is Spokanes free weekly newspaper. 

The Spokane Journal of Business
The Journal of Business is an independent business newspaper that covers news primarily in the greater metropolitan area that includes Spokane, Wash., and Coeur d’Alene, Idaho.

The Spokesman-Review
Spokane's local newspaper's online service.

KXLY: Channel 4 Local News

KREM: Channel 2 Local News

KHQ: Channel 6 Local News

National & International News

ABC News
The American Broadcasting Company (ABC) is a major American commercial broadcasting television network.

BBC Online
The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) is a British public service broadcaster.

CBS News
CBS Broadcasting, Inc. (CBS) is a major American commercial broadcasting television network.

CNN
Cable News Network (CNN) is an American cable news channel.

NBC News
NBCnews.com is the news website for the National Broadcasting Company (NBC) family of networks.

News and Newspapers Online
An extensive list of online newspapers from the University of North Carolina Greensboro.

NewsLink
A site with links to both national and international newspapers, broadcasters, and magazines.

Reuters
A global news agency headquartered in London, United Kingdom.

The Wire
The news website of the Associated Press, its member newspapers and broadcasters.

Bookstores

Local Bookstores

2nd Look Books 2829 E. 29th Avenue Specializes in out-of-print and used books and magazines.
Auntie's Bookstore 402 W. Main Ave. Sells new and used books, magazines, comics, music, videos, and games.
Barnes & Noble Bookstore 2 locations: Northtown Mall & Spokane Valley Mall Sells new books and magazines.
Booktraders 907 W. Garland Ave. 509-326-7653 Sells used books
Gusdorf's Books10525 E. Sprague Ave. (Spokane Valley) 509-922-2669 Used books, will do book searches.

Textbooks

Both local and online sources for textbooks.
Zag Shop BARC -  location & hours Gonzaga University's campus bookstore, selling and renting new and used college textbooks. Buys back books throughout the year.
Amazon.com Largest online bookstore. Search for new and out-of-print books, as well as music, DVDs, videos, and a multitude of other non-print materials.
Barnes & Noble Textbooks New and used textbooks for kindergarten through high school.
Half.com Buy or rent books from Half.com, the "textbook superstore" operated by eBay.
Textbooks.com Buy, rent, download, or sell textbooks.
Efollett.com Sells new and used college textbooks and other college-related products. Buys back used textbooks.
Powell's Books Sells used, new, or out-of-print textbooks.
Ecampus.com Sells discounted new college textbooks and used textbooks and other college-related products. Buys back used textbooks.
Chegg.com Chegg is an academic company specializing in online textbook rentals, homework help, and scholarships.

Additional Online Bookstores

Internet Book Shop Britain's largest online bookstore. Searchable by author, title, ISBN, publisher, or series.
Powell's Books The largest new and used bookstore in the world.

Search Multiple Sites at the Same Time

These sites search many online bookstores at the same time and compare prices and shipping costs. Most have a basic search by author, title, keyword, and ISBN. Many also offer more advanced searching options by price ranges, publisher, year, or other criteria.
BookFinder.com Fast, efficient. Search for new, used, fine, rare, and out-of-print books. Covers 20,000,000 books and 20,000 book dealers. Offers advanced searching options.
Add All.com Search for used, rare, and out-of-print materials.
Advanced Book Exchange Search for rare, out-print, or antiquarian books. Offers advanced searching options.
Alibris Search for used, rare, or out-of-print books. Offers advanced searching options.
All Bookstores.com Searches for new or used books, including textbooks.
Best Book Buys Searches for all kinds of books, including new and used books, textbooks, audio books, and out-of-print books.
Dealtime Search for new or used books.

Google

Foley Library Quick Links

  • Databases
    List of all Foley Library's eResources
  • Periodicals @ Foley
    Listing of all Foley journal subscriptions, including electronic and printer versions. Searchable by journal title.
  • Primo
    Simultaneously searches many (but not all) of the library's print and electronic resources.
  • Research Guides
    Get subject specific guidance on where to start your research.

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Random but Helpful

Bartleby.com: Searchable database of quotes.

Days of the Year: Everyday is a celebration- of something!

Fantastic Fiction: Great resource for to find all the books in a series, or by a particular author.

Oracle of Bacon: Play 6 Degrees of Kevin Bacon like a pro (searching Google for an actors Bacon Number also works).

Quoteland: Browse quotes by topic.

Library IT & Web Manager

Anji Mertens's picture
Anji Mertens
Contact:
509-313-6534