Skip to main content

Online & Distant Students: Dissertations

Library services and tips for students enrolled in online and off-campus programs.

Gonzaga University Dissertations & Theses

A comprehensive literature review of a topic may require using master's theses and doctoral dissertations on the topic, especially if you are a graduate or doctoral student at Gonzaga.  The following links are useful for searching and locating dissertations through the Foley web site.

Gonzaga theses and dissertations 

Foley Center has a complete collection of dissertations and theses written for the Ph.D., EdD and Masters of Nursing programs. There are also some theses from early masters programs in the School of Arts and Sciences. Gonzaga theses and dissertations can be found in the library catalog under author, title and subject. The library usually owns two copies of each thesis, a circulating bound paper copy located in the general collection and a non-circulating microform copy located in Special Collections.

Access to Gonzaga theses and dissertations are also available  online through the ProQuest database, Dissertations and Theses @ Gonzaga University.  Using this database, you can search all Gonzaga theses and dissertations in the ProQuest database by author, title and keyword . Abstracts are available and full text PDF files are generally available for theses or dissertations written since 1981.

Access to Gonzaga Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ Gonzaga  University -- Search over 800 GU theses and dissertations from 1981-present.  You can  generally access a 24-page preview as well as the full-text PDF, if available, for Gonzaga theses and dissertations. 
Search from on campus

Dissertations & Theses from other Institutions

Searching Dissertations and Theses -- Use Dissertations and Theses: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (1637-present) - This database covers the humanities and social sciences and includes more than 1 million theses and dissertations with abstracts, 24-page previews, and full-text PDF, if available, for dissertations from other universities dating back to 1637.

Ordering Dissertations -- Use Dissertation Express to buy a copies of dissertations from other colleges and universities. The price is typically $37 for a PDF (web download) or $44 for an unbound paper copy.

Borrowing Dissertations using InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad) -- It may be possible to borrow a copy of a dissertation from another university. Log into your ILLiad account and fill out the Thesis/Dissertation Request form. Foley's ILL staff will contact you if there is a problem getting a dissertation and let you know if other options are available. 

 

MORE WAYS TO FIND & ACCESS DISSERTATIONS

British Theses & Dissertaions - EthOS is an online search tool for dissertations and thesesheld at the British Library and many academic libraries across the UK. Create an account to download items. Non-open access dissertaions and theses are also available for purchase.

Canadian Dissertations - The Theses Canada Portal is a searchable database of dissertations and theses from Canadian universities. The  electronic dissertations in this collection may be viewed online or downloaded. Non-electronic theses/dissertations may be purchased from the site or requested using ILLiad. FYI, Canadian theses/dissertations supplied through interlibrary loan are mailed to Foley Library from the National Library of Canada and arrive in microfiche format.

Open Access Theses & Dissertations - "OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world." OATD FAQ.