Skip to main content

International Studies: POLS 363/INST 395

Start Here

Ask A Librarian

Chat with a librarian 24/7

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Search With Primo

Start here to find thousands of books, media, and scholarly journal articles housed at Foley and available to you electronically.

International Studies Research at Gonzaga

Doing research in international studies at Gonzaga? Here is your guide for everything that Foley Library offers to make your research project the best it can be. Start with the Quick Links box to the left or choose one of the tabs at the top of the page to search for information on books, articles, web materials and more. Any questions? Contact me, my information is in the box to the right.

International Studies Quick Links

Foley Quick Links

Subject Librarian

Caitlin Bagley's picture
Caitlin Bagley
Contact:
Foley Center Library
Gonzaga University
502 E. Boone Ave
Spokane, WA 99258-0095
(509) 313-6529

Subject Librarian

Articles

Journals by Subject

The Periodicals@Foley link will allow you to search for specific journals.  If you want to see a list of journals in international studies and related subjects check out specific subject links.

Databases

Loading ...

Gonzaga Library Search

Start here to find thousands of books, media, and scholarly journal articles housed at Foley and available to you electronically.

Books

Search With Primo

Start here to find thousands of books, media, and scholarly journal articles housed at Foley and available to you electronically.

Books

Loading ...

Print Resources

Foreign Relations of the United States (begins 1861) - General Collection KZ 233.U55

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States - To locate papers for a specific president, do  Title Keyword search of the library catalog for public papers and the name of the individual president. Foley's holdings start with Herbert Hoover and continue through Gerald Ford (approx. 1929-1977). Papers for administrations from George H.W. Bush through Barack Obama are located online.

Treaties in force (1941-present) - General Collection KZ235.T74; Latest edition in Reference Collection; Online: Latest issue & Archived

Beyond Foley

If you can't find the material you need at Foley Library, check WorldCat, a database of titles from libraries worldwide. WorldCat allows you to locate your desired materials (books, movies, music, etc.) at other area libraries, or order them to be delivered to Gonzaga for free through our Interlibrary Loan service, ILLiad.

Reference Shelf

Featured e-Reference Titles

Resources

Loading ...

Reference Universe Quick Search

Not sure which encyclopedia or dictionary will have coverage of your topic? Search Reference Universe, a cumulative index to electronic and print reference works at Foley Center Library.

Enter your search terms:

Web Resources

Resources

Loading ...

Organizations

Loading ...

Videos

Streaming Video Resources

Citation & RefWorks

Courses

POL 367/INST 393

The New Europe

This tab is for use of Laura Brunell's cross-listed course, POL 367/INST 393. The intent of it is to give you a resource as you look for ideas related to your particular topic on the new europe.

The course website, can be found here [tba].

Topics covered include, but are not limited to:

  • Brexit
  • Refugee/Immigration Crisis

Books

Newspapers & News Sources

Vetted Popular Media

IGOs, NGOs and more

POLS 363/INST 395

Description

This page has been designed for Laura Brunell's course on Global Gender Regimes. This focuses on the lives of women across the globe in positions in government and in the private sphere.

Resources that help this course will be listed below and updated periodically.

For specific help with these courses, feel free to make an appointment with subject bibliographer: Caitlin Bagley

Books

Database Searching

Using most Ebsco Databases you'll see a box similar to this, where you can use AND OR NOT to help you find the best results

You can combine search terms to help you find better results or limit out those that are not useful.

 

Vetted Popular Media Resources

Newspapers + News Sources

Searching in LexisNexis

LexisNexis is a great tool for you to use to find news articles from around the globe that will help you with your research, but it is not always the most intuitive to search. Use these tips to find exactly what you're looking for:

LexisNexis covers a wide range of topics from news, legal cases, and company information. Selected the box titled: "Search the News"

It should expand out when clicked to offer more search options.

Search for your specific news item here. You can also put in a specific source type if you know that you only want results from a specific publication. However, when doing a general search leave it on "Major World Publications" to get a sense of the scope.

After you have retried results in your search you will be able to filter results by publication, date, language and to search within the results.

Asian Studies

About Asian Studies Majors

This area has resources for students who have chosen to Major or Minor in Asian Studies through International Studies.

This guide is focused on resources specific to the subfield.

Chinese Web Resources

Southeast Asia Resources

Pimsleur Language Learning

   

Data & Resources

Latin American Studies

Databases en Español

Web Resources for Spanish & Related Languages