Covers journals on complementary and alternative medicine topics from 1990-present.
Alt HeathWatch contains citations from documents concerning perspectives on alternative, complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health and wellness, including full text articles from over 180 journals and reports. This database includes scholarly peer-reviewed sources. Alt HealthWatch also includes non-journal content, such as pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch full text articles date from 1990 to the present. For targeted searching, Alt HealthWatch provides the option to browse Subjects (such as a particular disease), Publications (to find articles in a specific publication), and Indexes (including Document Type and Year of Publication). These browsing options can be found above the blank search box in the Basic Search and Advanced Search tabs.
Search GU theses and dissertations from 1981 - present, many available as full text PDFs.
Foley Center has a complete collection of dissertations and theses written for the Ph.D., EdD and Masters of Nursing programs. There are also some theses from early masters programs in the School of Arts and Sciences. Gonzaga theses and dissertations can be found in the library catalog under author, title and subject. The library usually owns two copies of each thesis, a circulating bound paper copy located in the general collection and a non-circulating microform copy located in Special Collections.
Searches: Alt Healthwatch, Clinical Pharmacology, Health Source & Consumer Edition and Health Source & Nursing/Academic Edition
This database is the combination of two sub-databases: Alt HealthWatch and Health Source--Consumer Edition. By selecting from the "Specific Databases" dropdown menu, you can search one of these sub-databases or both simultaneously.
Consumer oriented health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health
The Consumer Edition of Health Source provides access to nearly 80 full text consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and more. Topics include AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, women's health, and more. Searchable full text is also provided for over 1,000 health pamphlets, over 130 health reference books, over 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports, and 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names from Lixi-PAL Drug Guide. Also included in the database are the contents of Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
The Nursing/Academic Edition of the Health Source database focuses on many diverse medical disciplines, with a special emphasis on nursing and allied health.
The Nursing/Academic Edition of the Health Source database focuses on many diverse medical disciplines, with a special emphasis on nursing and allied health. The database provides almost 550 scholarly full text journals and citations and abstracts for almost 850 journals. Full text journals include (but are not limited to) Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, and Nursing Inquiry. Like the Consumer Edition of Health Source, this database includes access to the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, covering 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Collection of Spanish language medical research and materials from investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers.
This database houses a collection of Spanish language medical research and materials from investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers. Full text access is available for almost 120 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. Most of the full text are in the form of fully-searchable pdfs. Topics covered by MedicLatina include neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
Full text access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) as well as important psychiatry textbooks, manuals and journals.
Includes the complete DSM library, with full text access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) as well as important psychiatry textbooks, manuals and journals.
Indexes topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (This database is a subset of the Academic Search Premier)
This database covers issues such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. The database provides access to almost 575 full text publications, of which 550 are peer-reviewed journals. The database also houses indexing and abstracts for all journals in the collection. Almost all of the full text publications in Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection database are indexed in PsycINFO, and users can link from PsycINFO citations to the full text in this database. Full text content in the database spans from 1965 to the present.
Primary psychology database published by the American Psychological Assn.
PsycINFO is a database compiled and maintained by the American Psychological Association (APA). Articles collected in PsycINFO are culled from more than 2100 periodicals, and 97 percent of the articles in this database are peer-reviewed. The over 2.3 million document citations and abstracts housed by PsycINFO are not only from scholarly journals, but also represent books, book chapters, and dissertations. You can browse PsycINFO by subject using the Thesaurus link. PsycINFO’s materials cover a wide range of psychological topics, including the psychological aspects of related fields, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. PsycINFO only provides citations and abstracts, and does not host full text. However, if full text is available in another database, PsycINFO will provide a link with information on how to get the full text of the article.
Search engine designed to help clinicians find evidence based information on the web. Sign up for a free account for additional services. Nursing students - look for the Search Wizard link at the bottom of the page for help with PICO research.
Access to MEDLINE, and additional biomedical information resources.
PubMed is the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed primarily includes MEDLINE citations, but also contains: In-process citations which provide a record for an article before it is indexed with MeSH and added to MEDLINE or converted to out-of-scope status.Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing (when supplied electronically by the publisher). Some OLDMEDLINE citations that have not yet been updated with current vocabulary and converted to MEDLINE status. Citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed with MeSH for MEDLINE. Some life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral® and may not yet have been recommended for inclusion in MEDLINE although they have undergone a review by NLM, and some physics journals that were part of a prototype PubMed in the early to mid-1990's.Citations to author manuscripts of articles published by NIH-funded researchers.
Like MEDLINE, PubMed Central is a collection within PubMed. Access to PubMed Central is free and open to the public, and contains full text access to biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubMed Central houses over 500,000 full text articles, most of which have a corresponding citation in PubMed.
Journals by Subject
The Periodicals@Foley link will allow you to search for specific journals. If you want to see a list of journals in nursing and related subjects check out specific subject links.
LOOK AT THE WHOLE SCREEN FIRST. Before you start searching in an unfamiliar database, look at the whole search screen first. What search tools are available to you? Are there check boxes, limiters, subject headings, indexes, a link to get help?
KEEP IT SIMPLE.Search with only the most necessary keywords from your topic and don't use all of them at once. Example (keywords in italics): What are the effects of global warming on the animals in national parks? You might want to get more specific and search for: climate change, wildlife, Yellowstone.
FIND A FEW (2-3) RELEVANT ARTICLES.You don't need to start with 20 articles; find a couple of very relevant ones and read those first.You may discover other topics, authors or references or you may decide to change your topic.
SEARCH USING SUBJECT HEADINGS. Browse a database’s Thesaurusor list of Subject Terms to find subject headings relevant to your topic OR use a subject heading link in an article record to search for more articles with that heading. The Using Subject Headings tutorial below explains it better.