Skip to main content

History & Culture of Food in Italy : Find Articles

Use this guide to start your research for the History & Culture of Food in Italy course at Gonzaga-in-Florence.

Journals by Subject

The Periodicals@Foley link will allow you to search for specific journals.  If you want to see a list of journals on food and related subjects check out specific subject links.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way to search for academic articles across multiple disciplines. Change the preferences on your Google Scholar page to link to Foley Library's full-text holdings.

TIP: Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar (see box above) is a great place to search for article citations - but it doesn't always provide full-text access to articles. Follow these instructions to see if specific articles are available through Foley Library:

  • Search for your topic in Google Scholar.
  • Found an article? Note the title of the journal, and what volume/year and issue it is in.
  • Go to the Periodicals@Foley page.
  • Search for the title of the journal in which the article was published.
  • If found, click on the journal title.
  • In the pop-up window, if you see 'Electronic Full Text' listed, you will be able to access the journal online. Note the year(s) available, and click on the database containing the right year/volume.
  • Once in the database, locate the year/volume, issue, and article by following the appropriate links.

Questions? Come see us at the GIF Library - staff is always happy to help!

Searching by Subject

See the box below for a list of subject-specific databases where you can find articles related to Italian food, history and culture.

To search in a frequently-used general database, see the box to the right.

To see a list of all periodical databases, click on the link below. This list breaks our periodical databases into broad categories:

  • General
  • Arts & Humanities
  • Business & Law
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Nursing & Medicine
  • Religion, Sciences
  • Social & Behavioral Sciences

(You can also use the letter tabs at the top of this list for alphabetical listings.)

Subject-Specific Databases for History & Culture of Food Research

Here is a list of suggested databases that could be relevant to your research topic(s).

Featured Italy & Food-Related Journals

Italian Culture via ProQuest

Italian Culture, the official publication of the American Association for Italian Studies, is an annual refereed journal. Its interdisciplinary scope reflects the broad and diverse interests of the Association’s members, offering subscribers scholarly articles in Italian language, linguistics, history, literature, cinema, politics, philosophy, folklore, popular culture, migration, and the influence of Italy on other cultures.

European Food & Drink

European Food and Drink Review via ProQuest

The European Food & Drink Review has been covering the European food and beverage manufacturing industry since 1988. Combining in-depth technical reports with incisive editorial commentary and debate, The European Food & Drink Review is the only publication that covers developments in the latest technology and applications throughout the food processing cycle from raw materials to finished products.

Nutrition & Food Science

Nutrition and Food Science via ProQuest

Nutrition & Food Science covers current thinking on food and nutrition emphasizing the practical and social application of ideas. Special editions focusing on topics including micronutrients, special diets for management of health problems and cost sector catering provide readable content that is an invaluable resource for practitioners and academics wishing to inform themselves, their colleagues, or the public on modern thinking, research, and attitudes to food and nutrition.

Frequently Used Databases

You may want to try searching for articles related to your topic in one of these popular databases:

GIF Library Quick Links

Need Help?

If you need help with research, you can:

  • Come see GIF Library staff during open hours - we are always happy to help!
  • Email GIF Library staff during open hours at librarygif@gmail.com.
  • After hours, use the 'Ask a Librarian' widget below to chat directly with Foley Librarians in Spokane!

Ask A Librarian

Chat with a librarian 24/7

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.