Banner Image

Library Policies: Services and Collections

Collection Development Policy

Collection development involves the selection of materials for the Foley Center Library as well as the maintenance of the collection including weeding, replacements, and assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of the collection. At Gonzaga collection development is a cooperative venture of the Foley faculty and teaching faculty with the Collection Development Librarian overseeing policy and overall development of the collection. Faculty work with the appropriate library subject bibliographers on collection needs and priorities.

All members of the Gonzaga community are encouraged to recommend titles for inclusion in the collection. Materials selected should reflect the curriculum and disciplines taught at the university with primary emphasis on our undergraduate students. A copy of the Collection Development Policy which details collection history, acquisition and guidelines is available below to download or from the Collection Development Librarian.

Note on Privacy: If you ask the Foley Library to notify you when a requested item arrives, your name will be associated with the title in our records. Although library policy is not divulge the identity of a title's requestor, should a government agency legally require this information we will be forced to supply it. If you do not wish for this information to be available do not fill in the "Requested By" box on the online form. Of course, in this case we will not know who you are and will not be able to notify you when the item is ready to circulate.

Purchasing of library materials is done by the Acquisitions staff of Materials Management.

All questions regarding collection development issues should go to:

Linda Pierce
Associate Professor
Acquisitions and Collection Development Librarian
509 313-3834
pierce@gonzaga.edu

Photo Duplication and Use Policy

WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research". If a person later uses a reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that person may be liable for copyright infringement.

UASC reserves the rights to refuse a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. It is the patron’s obligation to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when reproducing materials from Gonzaga’s University Archives & Special Collections Department. The patron expressly assumes all responsibility for observing applicable laws of copyright, literary property, and libel and covenants and agrees to exonerate, indemnify, and hold Gonzaga University and its Trustees harmless for and on account of any and all loss, cost, damage or expense arising out of or in any way connected with the uses which the patron makes or suffers or permits to be made of the materials photocopied, digitized, or otherwise reproduced from the University Archives & Special Collections.

In addition to copyright, some materials presented in these collections may be subject to the terms of gift or purchase agreements, donor restrictions, publicity rights, privacy rights, licensing and trademarks. When digital reproductions are requested, the size, condition, and donor restrictions of all materials are evaluated. Requests for reproductions may be denied if such work would damage the materials to be copied or infringe on other restrictions.

Donation Acceptance Policy

The policy at Foley Center Library is to accept any donation with the understanding that the materials are ours to keep or dispose of as we see fit.  Once the items arrive, they are checked against the collection to see if we already have them and also are examined by a librarian to determine whether the donated materials support the curriculum.  The librarian then decides whether to add them to the collection.  If a donation is determined to be a duplicate, out of the scope of the curriculum, or unsuitable for an academic library, we will give it away.  We are unable to return items to donors.  If you have questions related to gifts or donations to the library, please contact Linda Pierce, Acquisitions Librarian, at (509) 313-3834. (Donation Acceptance Form)

UASC Research Regulations

Due to their value, condition, and uniqueness, UASC materials do not circulate and must be used in the space provided. These collections require handling and security precautions to ensure their long-term preservation. Regulations include the following:

·  A valid photo I.D. and registration with the AEON circulation system are required.

·  Bags and personal belongings must be stored in a locker (keys provided).

·  Pens and notebooks may not be used. Only loose paper, pencils, and laptop computers are allowed in the UASC department.

·  Food and drink are not allowed. Water bottles may be stored in lockers.

·  Cell phones cannot be used while in the UASC department area in order to provide a quiet study area.

·  Notebooks, bags, and similar personal items may be inspected before visitors leave.

·  Gloves may be necessary when handling photographs.

·    Digital photography is permitted only for research purposes, and the resulting images cannot be transferred to others, further reproduced, published, or displayed without the express written permission of the rights holder. Flash or external lights are not allowed.

UASC Licensing and Use of Materials

Permission to publish materials requires the requestor to complete the "Permission to Publish” form and to receive signed approval from an authorized departmental representative.

The Department does not grant exclusive publication rights. By giving permission to publish, the Department does not surrender their own rights. Applicants agree not to sell, donate, transfer, or otherwise use materials approved for publication for any other purpose.

The applicant expressly assumes all responsibility for observing applicable laws of copyright, literary property, and libel and covenants and agrees to exonerate, indemnify, and hold Gonzaga University and its Trustees harmless for and on account of any and all loss, cost, damage or expense arising out of or in any way connected with the uses which the signer makes or suffers or permits to be made of the materials identified on the "Permission to Publish” form.

Proper credit shall be assigned to all published materials. Citations should include full bibliographic information and read: University Archives and Special Collections, Gonzaga University.

UASC Scans/PDFs

·  Only a single copy of each page or part of the material described in the application will be made.

·  UASC reserves the right to limit the number of items to be reproduced or to decline to make a reproduction of any particular item with or without cause.

·  Copies of Library's materials may not be placed in any other library, archives, or similar repository without prior permission of UASC and of any other person or persons, institution or institutions whose consent the law requires.

·  The copies requested are for the sole and personal use of the applicant, who agrees not to transfer them to others, further reproduce them, publish any part of them or allow their use by other researchers or scholars without express written prior consent of Gonzaga University and other person or persons, institution or institutions whose consent the law requires.