Skip to main content

University Archives & Special Collections (UASC): Home

Our Mission

Gonzaga postcard


Our department is home to the history of Gonzaga University, as provider of higher education and corporate citizen of the region since 1887.  UASC contributes to the academic mission of the university by promoting students' use and appreciation of rare books, photographs, manuscripts and other historical materials. It shares in the civic role of the university by making these same resources available to the general public and visiting scholars.

Bing Crosby House

Crosby Alumni House

508 E. Sharp Ave. Spokane, WA       

Bing's childhood home was built in 1911. The main floor houses the Bing Crosby Collection, which contains more than 200 items including gold records, trophies, awards, and his Oscar for Going My Way (1944). The house is free to the public.

Crosby House Hours

Weekdays: 12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Saturdays: 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

** Large group tours available weekday morning hours by appointment.

For more information, please call: 509-313-4064 or visit the Crosby House website

Contact Us

University Archives and Special Collections is open:

Monday - Friday. 9:00 am - 4:30 pm

Appointments are preferred but walk-ins are accommodated, when possible.  

Appointments can be made by emailing uasc@gonzaga.edu or by calling 509-313-3873

Requesting Materials

Please email uasc@gonzaga.edu or call 509-313-3873 to request materials

 

UASC is discontinued the use of Aeon on May 14, 2019. 

Statement Regarding Sensitive Materials

            Gonzaga University’s Digital Collections derive from physical documents housed within the University Archives and Special Collections and are made accessible as part of the historical record. Some materials contain offensive images, language, or other objectionable content. Gonzaga will not erase or rewrite history by removing, editing or redacting them.  The materials will remain, as they are today, publicly available.  These historical primary sources are a reminder that the need to educate for cultural sensitivity, and the challenge to deepen and expand equity and inclusion, is an ever-present one. These images do not convey a contemporary understanding of Gonzaga’s core values, which are to honor and respect the human dignity of all persons.  Nor do they reflect our commitment to greater diversity, or increased equity and inclusion.  Our University Mission Statement clearly articulates our values in this regard: “… The Gonzaga experience fosters a mature commitment to dignity of the human person, social justice, diversity, intercultural competence, global engagement, solidarity with the poor and vulnerable, and care for the planet.”


Current Exhibit

Undefeated Since 1941:
History of Gonzaga Football


 

Viewing Hours: 

Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Cowles Rare Book Library, 3rd Floor, Foley Library

Online Exhibit

Bulldog Exhibit, Hemmingson Center

Bulldog Mania:

Mascots in Different Shapes & Sizes

The Bulldog, Hemmingson Center, 2nd Floor

On-Line Exhibit

Guest curated by history major Kelly Omodt, '17