Skip to main content

University Archives & Special Collections (UASC): Home

Our Mission

Gonzaga postcard


Our department is home to the history of Gonzaga University, as provider of higher education and corporate citizen of the region since 1887.  UASC contributes to the academic mission of the university by promoting students' use and appreciation of rare books, photographs, manuscripts and other historical materials. It shares in the civic role of the university by making these same resources available to the general public and visiting scholars.

Historical Images Gallery

Gonzaga College 1895

Gonzaga College, 1895

Students, 1888

Students, 1888

Tennis, 1915

Tennis, 1915

Football Stadium, 1922

Football Stadium, 1922

Cadet Corp, 1906

Cadet Corp, 1906

Contact Us

UASC staff are available by-appointment only.

To arrange your visit or for more information:

Voice:  509.313.3873 (or)
Email: uasc@gonzaga.edu
 

Bing Crosby House

Crosby Alumni House

508 E. Sharp Ave. Spokane, WA

Bing's childhood home was built in 1911. The main floor houses the Bing Crosby Collection, which contains more than 200 items including gold records, trophies, awards, and his Oscar for Going My Way (1944). The house is free to the public.

Hours: 

Weekdays: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Saturdays: 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Request Materials with Aeon

Requests to access materials from UASC are submitted using Aeon. This system allows UASC staff to more quickly and accurately fulfill your requests.

Aeon requests may be submitted before your visit, or can be completed with the assistance of UASC staff during a reference appointment.

Click to access the Aeon system, including detailed instructions for creating an Aeon account and submitting requests for materials.

#Zag Snapshots: Capturing March Madness

The 2017 Gonzaga men’s basketball season has been historic!  Now you can help capture this memorable moment.

The Gonzaga University Archives wants to preserve this important historic season by collecting photographs of students’ experiences during the NCAA tournament.  We are asking you to send up to 5 images that you took during the tournament while on or off campus. Images can include players, spectators, road trip experiences, etc.

Selected images have been printed and are currently on display in the Hemmingson Hallway.  Additionally, many images will be added to the University Archives and be part of the Zag Life Collection in the Digital Collections at http://digital.gonzaga.edu. Due to copyright, the photographs must be taken by you.

New deadline for submission is Friday May 12, 2017.

To participate, please go to: March Madness Zag Snapshots Form.   Click on the link to complete the form and to upload the images.

For more information, please contact Stephanie Plowman at 313-3847 or plowman@gonzaga.edu.

Current Exhibit

GU's Library Legacy:

Transitioning from the "Storehouse for Knowledge" to the "Library of the Future"

Viewing Hours: 

Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Cowles Rare Book Library, 3rd Floor, Foley Library

On-Line Exhibit

Bulldog Exhibit, Hemmingson Center

Bulldog Mania:

Mascots in Different Shapes & Sizes

The Bulldog, Hemmingson Center, 2nd Floor

On-Line Exhibit

Guest curated by history major Kelly Omodt, '17