Skip to main content

University Archives & Special Collections (UASC): Rare Books And Manuscripts

Rare Books

 

The Rare Book collection constitutes over 16,000 items. Over 3,000 volumes constitute The Gonzaga Collection, focused on theology, philosophy, and the classics, in works mainly from the 16th-18th centuries, but including some as old as 1475.

More information can be found here. 

Manuscripts

University Archives and Special Collections houses manuscript collections not created by Gonzaga University. These include diverse collections often related to alumni or topics of local interest. Manuscript collections are typically the personal or family papers of individuals but include a wide range of material and document types. Some highlights include: 

-- Bing Crosby Collection: includes photographs, recordings, books, original manuscripts, memorabilia, research material, fan club periodicals, and the entire collection of the Bing Crosby Historical Society

--Gerard Manley HopkinsMaterials by or about this English Jesuit poet either printed or in manuscript form in order to make readily available all materials relating to him and background information

-- George R. Nethercutt, Jr., Congressional Papers:  Papers of Nethercutt who served in the 5thDistrict of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1994 – 2004

-- James O’Sullivan Papers: contains correspondence, newsclippings, photographs and documents about O'Sullivan and his work on the Grand Coulee Dam.

-- Howard W. Wildin Sheet Music Collection:  Contains nearly 20,000 pieces of original American popular sheet music dating back to the mid-19th century

A full list of our manuscript collections can be found here