Skip to main content

Spokane: Local and Regional Information: Gonzaga & Spokane History

Fun, interesting and helpful information about community and services in Spokane and the Inland Northwest.

Cultural Diversity Sites in Spokane

A bibliography of resources for those researching the history of cultural diversity in Spokane, by Dr. Raymond Rast of Gonzaga University's History Department.

Resources at Foley Center Library

University Archives

The University Archives are the depository for the permanent record of Gonzaga University. Spanning the entire history of the Gonzaga University from 1887-present, the University Archives document both the daily administration of Gonzaga University and special events throughout the years.

Online Access to University Archives & Special Collections

Spokane & Regional History

Eastern Washington State Historical Society/Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture (MAC) Collections: includes items on Regional History, Fine Art and American Indians and other cultures in the region.

City-County of Spokane Historic Preservation Office

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection: From the University of Washington Libraries, access online versions of full-text primary documents, and original photographs relating to Native Americans of the Pacific Northwest.

Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archivea project of Washington State University Vancouver, the Idaho State Historical Society, Oregon Historical Society, Washington State Historical Society, and Washington State University Pullman.

Campbell House: "Learn about the Campbell household and the changes in business, community life, and technology that faced this family, its servants, and its community, circa 1910." A beautiful mansion and interesting history.

Inland Northwest Memories ProjectFunded in part by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Spokane Historical: "a web and mobile platform for telling stories of Spokane and Eastern Washington. Spokane Historical is a project of the Public History program at Eastern Washington University."

Northwest History: "Explorations in digital history in the Pacific Northwest--and beyond."

Inland Northwest Rail MuseumDevoted to preserving the railroad history of Eastern Washington and the Inland Northwest, from the Inland Empire Railway Historical Society, a non-profit corporation and regional chapter of the National Railway Historical Society.

Historic Tour of Spokane's Riverfront Park: a Google map

Request Materials with Aeon

Requests to access materials from UASC are submitted using Aeon. This system allows UASC staff to more quickly and accurately fulfill your requests.

Aeon requests may be submitted before your visit, or can be completed with the assistance of UASC staff during a reference appointment.

Click to access the Aeon system, including detailed instructions for creating an Aeon account and submitting requests for materials.