Skip to main content

Circulation Policies: Circulation Policies

Checking Out and Returning Materials

Your Gonzaga University ID card is your library card.

Bring your card with you to the Foley Center; it is required for a variety of on-site services including check out of materials as well as access to some electronic databases from locations outside the library. It is also your key to access the library after 9 pm (Sunday - Thursday).

How do I check out and return materials?

Present your ID card at the Circulation Desk on the main floor to check out material. All items that circulate are to be checked out and returned to the Foley Circulation Desk. An outside bookdrop is provided for your convenience. There is also a bookdrop located in the basement of College Hall, adjacent to Faculty Services. This drop is checked periodically throughout the week.

Where else can I use my card?

Present your Gonzaga ID card at these Spokane libraries to receive free borrowing privileges: Gonzaga's Chastek Law Library, Spokane Falls Community College and Spokane Community College. Check at the Information Desk for a complete list of libraries from which you can borrow materials.

What if I'm not currently taking classes?

Student/Faculty/Staff library services are not available if you are not enrolled or employed by Gonzaga University.

Reviewed 11/2018

        Acquire a Library Card

Bring your valid Great Northern University or Moody Aviation student ID card with you to the Circulation Desk. A library account will be set up for you. Your student ID is required for checkout of all materials. Your card entitles you to check out up to 5 items of any circulating material in the Foley collection, but does not provide access to online databases. Your card will not allow access to the Chastek Law Library.

How Do I Check Out and Return Materials?

Present your student ID card card at the Circulation Desk on the main floor to check out material. All items that circulate are to be checked out and returned to the main Circulation Desk. An outside bookdrop is provided for your convenience.

Do I Have Access to Online Databases?

Due to license restrictions imposed by database vendors, remote access to most online databases is only available to current GU students, faculty, and staff. Inquire at the Information Desk about databases that are freely available to the public. You may access our online databases from inside Foley Center Library. Inquire at the Information Desk for more information.

Reviewed 11/2018

Acquire a Community Borrow Card

Bring your valid Gonzaga Alumni Association card with you to the Circulation Desk. You will be issued a Community Borrower Card, free of charge*. This card is required for check out of materials. Your card entitles you to check out any circulating material in the Foley collection, but does not provide access to online databases. Your card will not allow access to the Chastek Law Library. (*with validation of your GU affiliation)

How Do I Check Out and Return Materials?

Present your borrower card card at the Circulation Desk on the main floor to check out material. All items that circulate are to be checked out and returned to the main Circulation Desk. An outside bookdrop is provided for your convenience.

Do I Have Access to Online Databases?

Due to license restrictions imposed by database vendors, remote access to most online databases is only available to current GU students, faculty, and staff. Inquire at the Information Desk about databases that are freely available to the public. You may access our online databases from inside Foley Center Library. Inquire at the Information Desk for more information.

The Visitor Policy for general use of the Foley Center can be found here.

Acquire a Community Borrower's Card

You may purchase a library card at the Circulation Desk. The card costs $35 and is valid for one year. This card is required for check out of materials. Your card entitles you to check out any circulating material in the Foley collection, but does not provide access to online databases. You may pay for a Community Borrower's Card online here.

How Do I Check Out and Return Materials?

Present your borrower card card at the Circulation Desk on the main floor to check out material. All items that circulate are to be checked out and returned to the Foley Circulation Desk. An outside bookdrop is provided for your convenience.

Do I Have Access to Online Databases?

Due to license restrictions imposed by database vendors, remote access to most online databases is only available to current GU students, faculty, and staff. Inquire at refdesk@gonzaga.edu about databases that are freely available to the public. You may access our online databases from inside Foley Center Library. Inquire at the Information Desk for more information.

What Happens If I Return Something Late?

Everyone who borrows material from the library is expected to return them on time. Lost or damaged items will be subject to fees. A $100 charge will apply to any item more than 30 days overdue until it is returned. Overdue items must be returned to the Circulation Desk of the library before they may be checked out again.

What Items Can Be Recalled?

Any item checked out by any borrower may be recalled after two weeks if needed by another borrower or by the library. The person who has the item wil be notified and given 7 days to return it.

Reviewed 11/2018

Loading ...

Library Services for Retired Gonzaga Faculty

With the exception of faculty who retire with emeritus status, library privileges end upon retirement. A Community Borrower card may be purchased for $35/year to check out books. Interlibrary Loan services are not included. Access to online databases is available only from Visitor Computers in the library.

Emeriti – Faculty retiring with "professor emeritus" status retain borrowing and interlibrary loan privileges at Foley Library. To retain Interlibrary Loan privileges, emeriti must contact the Interlibrary Loan Office to update their status and contact information.

 

Reviewed 11/2018

Locker Rental

Lockers are located on the east side of the Main Floor and are available for rental by current members of the GU Community.

Library Lockers Policy

  • Individuals wishing to check out a locker must sign the Locker Rental Agreement.
  • The renter will be issued one key to the assigned locker.
  • At the end of the term, the key must be returned or the locker renewed for another term.
  • Failure to return the key will result in a twenty-dollar charge on your library account to cover the replacement cost of the key and the locker will be emptied of its contents.

Ask about Locker Rentals at the Foley Library Circulation Desk.

Loan Periods

Books 28 days
Curriculum Center Material 28 days
Popular Media (DVD, CD, VHS) 7 days
Popular Books 28 days
Lenovo Laptops 24 hours
Mac Laptops 4 hours
Group Study Rooms 3 hours
Reserve Material Varies
WIN/Resource Sharing Material Varies
Interlibrary Loan Material Varies

 

Note: Reference books, periodicals, and Special Collections materials do not check out.

Books End of Semester
Curriculum Center Material 28 days
Popular Media (DVD, CD, VHS) 7 days
Popular Books 28 days
Lenovo Laptops 24 hours
Mac Laptops 4 hours
Group Study Rooms 3 hours
Reserve Material Varies
Win Borrow Consortium Material Varies
Interlibrary Loan Material Varies

 

Note: Reference books, periodicals, and Special Collections materials do not check out.

Books End of Semester
Curriculum Center Material 28 days
Popular Media (DVD, CD, VHS) 7 days
Popular Books 28 days
Lenovo Laptops 24 hours
Mac Laptops 4 hours
Group Study Rooms 3 hours
Reserve Material Varies
Win Borrow Consortium Material Varies
Interlibrary Loan Material Varies

 

Note: Reference books, periodicals, and Special Collections materials do not check out.

Books 28 days
Popular Media (DVD, CD, VHS) 7 days
Popular Books 28 days
Curriculum Center Material 28 days

 

Note: Reference books, periodicals, and Special Collections materials do not check out.

Loading ...

Important Borrowing Information

Most items can be renewed as long as the item has not been requested by another user and if the item has not already reached its maximum renewal limit. Each renewal period is equivalent to the original check out period.

Patron Type                                                                                                                           Renewals

Undergraduate Students 2
Graduate Students 2
Great Northern University & Moody Aviation Students 2
Faculty & Staff 2
Alumni 2
Community Patrons 1

For current Gonzaga students, faculty, and staff, items can be renewed online using the "My Account" feature in the library catalog. To renew by phone, call the Circulation Desk at 509-313-5803. Please have you GU ID number available. You can also renew items in person at the Circulation Desk.

Interlibrary Loans can usually be renewed one time and is at the discretion of the lending library. To request an ILL renewal, log in to your ILLiad account and click "Checked Out & Renew Items" and follow the instructions. When we receive a response from the lender, we will inform you of your new due date. If your ILL item is overdue, call 509-313-3824 to request a renewal.

RECALL: If the item you want is checked out and you need it right away, ask to put a recall on the item. The person who has the item checked out has seven days to return it. When the item is returned you will be mailed a notice and the item will be held for you at the Circulation Desk for seven days. All circulating material is subject to recall. Any item checked out by any borrower may be recalled after two weeks if needed by another borrower or by the Library.

HOLD: If the item you want is checked out and you simply want to receive it when it's returned, ask to put a hold on the item. Whenever the item comes back the item will be held for you at the Circulation Desk. Holds may be placed in the catalog by using the hold request button and supplying your name and library card number.

Overdue Items Policy

Patrons are responsible for all items checked out on their card until the items are returned to the library. Foley Center Library does not charge overdue fines for most materials.

Overdue Notices

A courtesy notice will be emailed three days before the item is due. Overdue notices are sent at 7 days and 14 days past the due date.  At 30 days overdue, items are declared lost and a default replacement fee of $100 and a $10 processing fee will be applied to your account for each item.

Upon return, these fees will be automatically waived. Fees for items that have not been returned will not be waived and will cause a hold to be placed on your University Banner account, preventing registration, access to transcripts, and disbursement of financial aid.

Overdue Fines
Loan Type Fine Rate Maximum
Most items No daily fines Appropriate Item Replacement + Processing Fees
Recalled Items $1.00/day $25
Reserve Materials* $1.00/day $25

*Reserve materials include: course reserves, library reserves, laptops, power cords, whiteboards, flip cameras, headphones, or any other specialty item checked out from the Circulation Desk.

Lost and Damaged Materials

Patrons are responsible for replacement of lost or severely damaged items checked out on their card.

  • When an item is 30 days overdue it is considered lost and a replacement fee will be added to the patron's library account.
  • If an item is returned severely damaged, a replacement fee will be added to the patron's library account.
  • If two or more items are classified as lost or damaged on a patron's library account, borrowing privileges will be suspended. In addition, a hold may be placed in Banner, restricting access to registration, transcripts, etc. For community borrowers, unpaid fines will be collected in accordance with university policies and procedures.
Replacement Fees
Most Items (Books, DVDs, CDs) $100   
Laptop $1500
Study Room Key $100
Flip Camera $100
Graphing Calculator $100
Whiteboard $25
Laptop cord or phone charger $25
Locker Lock $10

Replacement fees will be cleared from the patron's account when any of these conditions are met:

  • The item is returned in good condition.
  • The replacement fee is paid.
  • The patron replaces a lost/damaged item with a new copy approved by the Head of User Services and pays a $25 processing fee.

Reviewed 11/2018

Reserve materials are located at the Circulation Desk and can be checked out by current students only. Reserve materials cannot be renewed. Reserve items have various check out periods ranging from 1 hour to 3 days.

Current Gonzaga students, faculty, and staff can access their accounts by signing in on the Library Search tool, also called Primo. Once signed in, click My Account at the top-right of the page. This feature allows you to view current activity on your borrowing record  such as items out, fines owed, and holds pending. You can also renew your items from here.

Confidentiality: State law (Revised Code of Washington 42.17.310) upholds your right to confidentiality of your library borrowing record.

Loading ...

Additional Information for GNU, Moody Aviation, Community & Alumni Borrowers

  • Borrowing privileges do not extend to the Chastek Law Library.
  • Library computer use is handled at the Information Desk.
  • Off-campus access to our online databases is not available.
  • Interlibrary loan service is not offered. Spokane Public Library offers ILL services to residents of the city of Spokane.
  • Access to reserve items and study rooms is not available.