Frequently Used Databases
New and Featured Databases
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. You’ll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source.
- Europa World of Learning Directory of the academic world, including colleges and universities, learned societies, libraries and archives, and museums and art galleries around the world.
- Europa World Online Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs.
- Media Education Foundation Streaming Videos A database of streaming videos on academic subjects. Subject coverage includes documentary films on gender studies, race studies, media studies and communication, debt and consumerism, and politics and current issues.
eBooks & AudioBooks from Foley
Streaming Video Databases
- Ambrose DigitalClose-captioned streaming video of all 37 of Shakespeare's plays, as produced by the BBC.
- C-SPAN Archives Includes digital archives of all congressional sessions and committee hearings since 1987 with linked full-text from the Congressional Record. Programs are searchable by subject, speakers, committees, etc.
- Films on DemandFilms On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that provides streaming videos from Films Media Group/Films for the Humanities anytime, anywhere, 24/7. It provides access to 8,900 full length academic/educational videos and over 100,000 video clips. Subjects include business, humanities, sciences and general interest titles.
- JoVE Basic Protocols Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.
- Media Education Foundation Streaming Videos A database of streaming videos on academic subjects. Subject coverage includes documentary films on gender studies, race studies, media studies and communication, debt and consumerism, and politics and current issues.
- Music Online | Dance in Video Provides online videos of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
- Music Online | Opera in Video Provides online videos of 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video as well as interviews, and documentaries
- New Day Films Streaming VideoNew Day Films is a unique distribution cooperative run by the filmmakers themselves. Specializing in social-issue documentaries.
Streaming Videos from Foley
Selected streaming videos are hosted by Gonzaga University. These are full-length documentaries, available to the Gonzaga community with your GU login.
The Bro Code: How Contemporary Culture Creates Sexist Men
Hip Hop: Beyond Beats & Rhymes
Race: the Power of an Illusion
- Episode 1: The Differences Between Us
- Episode 2: The Story We Tell
- Episode 3: The House We Live In
Open Access Resources
Free access to full text scholarly materials, available to the public.
- arXiv (Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics)
- BioMed Central
- Classics in Washington History
- Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
- DASH: Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard
- Digital Commons Network
- Digital Public Library of America
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
- Free Music Archive
- Gonzaga Digital Archives
- Hathi Trust
- Internet Archive
- LibriVox
- Northwest Digital Archives
- Open Access Library
- PLOS: Public Library of Science
- Project Gutenberg
- PubMed Central
- University of Idaho Map Room
- Visual Medical Dictionary
- Washington State Digital Archives
Trial Databases
If you use a database during a trial, please consider also completing the feedback survey. The feedback survey gives us valuable information about whether the database is useful to Gonzaga researchers. Thank you!
- Statista Statista.com is the first statistics portal in the world to integrate data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
- Statista Feedback Survey
- Morgan & Claypool: Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences | Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This trial from Morgan & Claypool includes two collections: Colloquium (Life Sciences) and Synthesis (Engineering and Computer Science).
- Morgan Claypool: Colloquium | Synthesis Feedback Survey
- L'Année PhilologiqueL'Année Philologique is an index to scholarly work in fields related to the language, literature, history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome.
This database is published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, in collaboration with the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) and the American Philological Association (APA). - L'Année philologique Feedback Survey
Searching by Subject
These lists break our databases and electronic reference sources into broad categories:
General, Arts & Humanities, Business & Law, Education, Engineering, Nursing & Medicine, Religion, Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
Find eBooks in Primo
To find an eBook in Primo, begin in the Primo search box on Foley's home page. Searches for keyword work best:

That returned 458,487 results in Primo! But if you login to Primo, you'll unlock even more search results--click the Sign In link in the upper right corner. Then you'll have:

Next, use Primo's filters on the left side of the screen to narrow your search to just electronic materials. Click the Foley WWW link in the "Location" section to see results from electronic resources.

You'll notice that your search results may include some streaming video and other cool stuff! To narrow your results down to just eBooks, click the Books link in the "Resource Type" section of the filters.

That's it! You've found some great eBooks you can read from anywhere--282 to be precise! You know you've got it right if you have these limits listed above your search results. Happy eReading!



Loading...
