Skip to main content

Nursing: EBP Resources Chart

Account set up and troubleshooting for BoardVitals

Available EBP Resources

 Foley Library - Evidence-Based Practice Resources

 Many of these resources are available Free online and others are available through Foley Library’s databases. If an article is NOT easily available in full-text, first check Periodicals@Foley to see if the library has access. If it’s not there, then use your ILLiad account to place an article request.

NURS 563 Students - When pre-appraised evidence sources are unavailable, search for non-pre-appraised single studies or meta-analyses.

A - Systems
B - Summaries
C - Synopses of Syntheses
D - Syntheses
E - Synopsis of Single Studies
F - Single Study                                   

 Resource

Document Type

Level of Evidence

Availability & Links

ACP journal club

Structured Abstracts

Clinical Research Critiques

Periodicals@Foley

AHRQ Evidence Reports

Guidelines; Evidence Summaries

Evidence Guidelines

Free online

http://www.ahrq.gov/clinic/epcix.htm

Bandolier (UK)

Evidence Summaries

Clinical Research Critiques

Free online

http://www.medicine.ox.ac.uk/bandolier/knowledge

BestBETS

Systematic reviews

Non-pre-appraised SRs and meta-analyses

Free online

http://www.bestbets.org

Canadian Family Physician: Critical Appraisal Collection

Evidence Summaries

Evidence Summaries

Free online in PubMed Central

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/journals/303

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Research articles

RCTs; case cohorts; control studies; qualitative studies; meta-analyses

Foley Databases

Clinical Evidence

Evidence Summaries

Evidence Summaries

Free full-text 2003-2012 in PubMed Central

http://www.clinicalevidence.com

Clinical Inquiries FPIN

(Family Physicians Inquiry Network)

Evidence Summaries

Evidence Summaries

Click here for a

PubMed search of Clinical Inquiries FPIN.

Some FPIN clinical inquiries are available in

Journal of Family Practice, 2000 - present.

CMA InfoBase

(Canadian Medical Association)

Guidelines

Articles and Guidelines

Limited free content

http://www.cma.ca/clinicalresources/practiceguidelines

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

Abstracts of RCTs

RCTs; case-cohorts; control studies

Foley Databases (Cochrane Library)

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Systematic reviews

Cochrane Systematic Reviews

Foley Databases (Cochrane Library)

DARE - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects

Abstracts of Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Systematic Reviews

Foley Databases (Cochrane Library)

EBM Online 

Structured abstracts

Clinical Research Critiques

Some content is Free online

http://ebm.bmj.com

Evidence Based Nursing Journal

Synopses of Syntheses;

Synopses of Single Studies;

Single Studies

Periodicals@Foley

search for Evidence Based Nursing Journal

Joanna Briggs Institute

Systematic Review Protocols; SRs; Implementation Reports

Systematic Reviews

Some content is Free online

http://joannabriggslibrary.org/index.php/index

MD Consult Guidelines

Guidelines

Articles and Guidelines

Free online

http://www.mdconsult.com/php/266758816-2/homepage

MD Consult

Non-pre-appraised articles

Foley Databases

Mosby’s Nursing Consult

Non-pre-appraised articles

Foley Databases

National Guideline Clearinghouse

Guidelines

Articles and Guidelines

Free online

http://www.ngc.gov

PubMed Clinical Queries

Research articles

Non-pre-appraised RCTs; cohort; case-control studies

Free online

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/clinical

PubMed Systematic Reviews

Systematic Reviews

Non-pre-appraised SRs and meta-analyses

Free online

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/clinical

RNAO – Nursing Best Practice Guidelines (Registered Nurses Assn. of Ontario)

Guidelines

Summaries

Free online

http://www.rnao.org/bestpractices

SUMsearch

All resource types

Search engine

Limited free content

http://sumsearch.org

TRIP Database

All resource types

Search engine

Limited free content

http://www.tripdatabase.com

UpToDate

Evidence Summaries

Other reviews of the literature

Restricted access through Gonzaga's Nursing Dept. Contact your instructor

USPSTF Recommendations

(US Preventive Services Task Force )

Guidelines

Evidence Guideliness

Free online

http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/recommendations.htm

This table is based on a model from University of Washington’s EBP Tools page: http://libguides.hsl.washington.edu/ebptools