Skip to main content

Reading Lists by Leganto: For Students

Reading Lists by Leganto

Reading Lists makes it easy for you to access the course reading that you need. Students can find all class readings in one place, eliminating frustrating jumps between documents, the library website, and web links. Some of its top functions are:

  • Live availability information is included so you can see if a print book is available to borrow and where it's located in Foley.
  • You can filter the list by resource type - handy when trying to navigate a long reading list
  • You can export a list to a Word document or PDF if you wish to use it in another format.
  • ‘My Collection’ allows you to collect citations from your course reading lists or virtually anywhere on the internet.
  • Digital and physical Course Reserves information is accessible in one place.

Your Reading List Tools

My Collection - your personal shelf of saved resources

Create a personal collection of resources by gathering citations from Reading Lists, saving online resources, and searching the Foley Library collection. 

Save citation from a list

You can add readings from any of your course-related Reading Lists through the citation options menu. Just click copy to my collection.

Screenshot of citation options menu with arrow to copy to my collection

Save online resources

You can use the Cite It! bookmark to add items to your My Collection while browsing the web, for example searching for books on Amazon, YouTube videos, or articles on an open database.

  1. When you are on the web page or article abstract page, click the Cite It! bookmark to open the Add this to my collection box.
  2. We recommend that you review the item information populated in the box and add any key missing information - to edit a field, click into it and type in the correct information. 
  3. Click on the Add & Close button

Form to add details about citation

Please note that Cite It! may only copy full item details from supported sites. A current list of supported sites can be viewed by clicking on your name in the top right corner and selecting Cite It!

Save from library catalog

When you search the library catalog and find a resource you would like to add to My Collection, click on the Reading List icon in the 'Send to' options - if you are not already logged into Leganto, you will be directed to the log in page.

Reading List icon option in library catalog citation

CiteIt! - a bookmarklet that lets you save online resources

Cite It! is the easiest way to add items from the web to My Collection. You can collect resources using the bookmark tool while browsing the web, including items that are not in the Foley's collection.

To install the bookmark tool, click on your name in the top right corner of the Reading Lists screen and select Cite It! from the dropdown options.

 Select Cite It! from the dropdown options

Then follow the instructions to drag and drop the Cite It! bookmark into your bookmarks or favorites bar. 

Screenshot of pop-up window with drag and drop instructions

You can use the Cite It! bookmark to add items to your My Collection while browsing the web, for example searching for books on Amazon, YouTube videos, or articles on an open database.

  1. When you are on the web page or article abstract page, click the Cite It! bookmark to open the Add this to my collection box.
  2. We recommend that you review the item information populated in the box and add any key missing information - to edit a field, click into it and type in the correct information. 
  3. Click on the Add & Close button

 

Find Lists - see other lists at Gonzaga

Lists that are published to be viewable by anyone outside of a course are searchable from the Find Lists tab in the menu.

Follow this link, and log in using your your Gonzaga username and password.

Tip: If you can't find a list you expect to see, change Course Status to ALL.

Find Lists

You can save citations from any list into My Collection.

Loading ...

Interact with Reading Lists

You can leave comments on a whole list or on a single item if the function has been turned on by the instructor.

For a whole list, Student Comments will appear on the right side of the screen when a list is open.

For an item, open the item details, Student Comments for that item will appear on the right side of the screen. You can also like an item from the item details page.

You can track which resources you have read by clicking on the small checkmark next to the item's title.

This comes in handy with long lists!

Check mark icon that indicates you have read the resource

Instructors are able to report on this data.

You can suggest items from My Collection to be added to course lists.

To suggest an item, click on the item options menu (⋯) and Suggest this item. Select the list for which you want to make the suggestion.

A notification will be sent to your instructor.

Loading ...

Top Tips For Students

Get Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Save a list or My Collection

There are several ways to preserve your list in its current configuration through the Export options. This allows you to save the list as it currently exists or save My Collection for access away from Blackboard or Reading Lists..

Screenshot of Export options