Skip to main content

University Archives & Special Collections (UASC): Policies

UASC Research Regulations

Due to their value, condition, and uniqueness, UASC materials do not circulate and must be used in the space provided. These collections require handling and security precautions to ensure their long-term preservation. Regulations include the following:

  • Patrons may take digital photographs of materials with a handheld device. Portable scanners are allowed with staff permission and accordance to departmental scanning guidelines.
  • Portable electronic devices and pencils are allowed for note taking. Pens may not be used.
  • Food or drink is not permitted
  • When gloves or book cradles are provided they must be used
  • Briefcases, backpacks, purses are stored on shelving above the work area.
  • Secure storage of valuables is available upon request.

UASC Licensing and Use of Materials

Permission to publish materials requires the requestor to complete the "Permission to Publish” form and to receive signed approval from an authorized departmental representative.

The Department does not grant exclusive publication rights. By giving permission to publish, the Department does not surrender their own rights. Applicants agree not to sell, donate, transfer, or otherwise use materials approved for publication for any other purpose.

The applicant expressly assumes all responsibility for observing applicable laws of copyright, literary property, and libel and covenants and agrees to exonerate, indemnify, and hold Gonzaga University and its Trustees harmless for and on account of any and all loss, cost, damage or expense arising out of or in any way connected with the uses which the signer makes or suffers or permits to be made of the materials identified on the "Permission to Publish” form.

Proper credit shall be assigned to all published materials. Citations should include full bibliographic information and read: University Archives and Special Collections, Gonzaga University.

UASC Policies

Allowable Uses of Gonzaga University Digital Collections

Gonzaga University Archives permits patrons to download and display its digital collections when used for personal or academic purposes. Such use must identify Gonzaga University Archives as the source of these images.

Except where otherwise noted, the contents of Gonzaga University’s Digital Collections are owned by Gonzaga University and subject to copyright law. Materials in the public domain may be freely used, without restriction. All other uses require prior written permission from Gonzaga University Archives.

Additional information about copyright and fair use is available at Gonzaga University's copyright libguide. 

Placing an Image Request

To request a higher resolution image, please email uasc@gonzaga.edu with its identifying information and your contact information.

To request permission to publish email uasc@gonzaga.edu. Permission will usually be granted as long as donor or copyright restrictions do not prohibit such action and applicable fees are paid in full.

Fees for reproduction and use may apply.

Duplication and Use Policy

WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research". If a person later uses a reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that person may be liable for copyright infringement.

UASC reserves the rights to refuse a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. It is the patron’s obligation to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when reproducing materials from Gonzaga’s University Archives & Special Collections Department. The patron expressly assumes all responsibility for observing applicable laws of copyright, literary property, and libel and covenants and agrees to exonerate, indemnify, and hold Gonzaga University and its Trustees harmless for and on account of any and all loss, cost, damage or expense arising out of or in any way connected with the uses which the patron makes or suffers or permits to be made of the materials photocopied, digitized, or otherwise reproduced from the University Archives & Special Collections.

In addition to copyright, some materials presented in these collections may be subject to the terms of gift or purchase agreements, donor restrictions, publicity rights, privacy rights, licensing and trademarks. When digital reproductions are requested, the size, condition, and donor restrictions of all materials are evaluated. Requests for reproductions may be denied if such work would damage the materials to be copied or infringe on other restrictions.

UASC Scans/PDFs

·  Only a single copy of each page or part of the material described in the application will be made.

·  UASC reserves the right to limit the number of items to be reproduced or to decline to make a reproduction of any particular item with or without cause.

·  Copies of Library's materials may not be placed in any other library, archives, or similar repository without prior permission of UASC and of any other person or persons, institution or institutions whose consent the law requires.

·  The copies requested are for the sole and personal use of the applicant, who agrees not to transfer them to others, further reproduce them, publish any part of them or allow their use by other researchers or scholars without express written prior consent of Gonzaga University and other person or persons, institution or institutions whose consent the law requires.

Self Scanning Policy

As the use of cell phone cameras and portable scanners become commonplace, the University Archives and Special Collections (UASC) expects that patrons will wish to employ this technology with original materials for their personal or organizational use.  UASC permits this practice and will provide scanning under the following terms:

  1. Some materials may not be scanned due to the condition and fragility.
  2. All scanned materials are for reference use only.  
  3. When publishing, a “Permission to Publish” form must be completed by the user and approved by UASC personnel. This form is for a one-time use.  For subsequent later publishing, another permission form must be completed.
  4. Some patrons may want to create a bulk “archive” of these scanned materials for their organization’s use.  That is permitted provided the copies are clearly marked stating: Property of “University Archives & Special Collections, Gonzaga University, Spokane, WA.” Third party viewing of these materials is permissible, but all requests for redistribution or recopying of these materials must be forwarded to UASC. 

Scanning by Patron:

  1. Prior permission by a UASC department member is required before scanning/photographing.
  2. After receiving permission, users will be trained to handle materials appropriately.
  3. All photographs must be scanned with an ownership label.
  4. Label must identify folder containing original materials.

Scanning by UASC Staff:

  1. Ownership and folder source labels will also be used on selected pages. 
  2. Patrons can request the materials by email or phone. 
  3. Fees for reproduction and use may apply.

Requesting Materials

Please email uasc@gonzaga.edu or call 509-313-3873 to request materials

 

UASC is discontinued the use of Aeon on May 14, 2019.