Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Comcast Xfinity Users

COMCAST Xfinity USERS EXPERIENCING AN SSL ERROR!
Please follow these instructions to resolve this issue.

Temporary Resources due to COVID-19

In light of COVID-19, many publishers are making their licensed, electronic content freely available on a temporary basis to assist with the transition to online learning underway at many higher education institutions.

Publishers with free content due to COVID-19
Open Education Resources

 

Databases temporarily available:

COVID-19 Resources

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New Trial
New
De Gruyter and our Publisher Partners now offering digital access to
thousands of print books held in university and college libraries.
New Trial
New
The world's largest archive of digital social science data. Contains over 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. (Note: You must create a personal account to access the datasets. ICPSR IS ONLY AVAILABLE TO THE GONZAGA COMMUNITY.)
New Trial
The NEJM Group site licensing team has created a resource web page for librarians containing links to all freely available Covid-19 content from the New England Journal of Medicine, NEJM Catalyst, NEJM Journal Watch, and NEJM Resident 360. In addition to original research and other relevant articles, you will also find links to NEJM multimedia and teaching resources as well as an online discussion journal club hosted every two weeks by NEJM Resident 360.
New Trial
An online U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
New Trial
This product was created to help students score higher on graduate school entrance admission tests including GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MAT, MCAT, and PCAT. In addition to the 30 practice tests and 7 eBooks, the product provides a Scholarship Finder Tool (more than 24,000 scholarships and other awards) and a School Finder Tool (schools offering graduate certificates, Master’s Degrees or Doctorate Degrees).
New Trial
New Trial
Premier social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press book, reference, and video content.
New Trial
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.
New Trial
SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs.

Connecting Google Scholar to the Foley collection

Would you like to access Google Scholar content through Foley Library? Here is how!

  1. Add this link to your bookmark toolbar**: Reload in Foley Library Proxy Server
  2. Find an article through Google Scholar, or other search method.
  3. Click the link in your bookmark toolbar.
  4. Login through the Proxy server with you Gonzaga credentials, if Foley subscribes to the resource you will now have access to our subscribed content.

**How to add the link to your toolbar:

Firefox: Right click and save Reload in Foley Library Proxy Server to your bookmark toolbar

Chrome and Safari: Click and drag Reload in Foley Library Proxy Server to your bookmark toolbar

 

Database Searching Tips & Tricks

While searching:

  • Limit to peer-reviewed journals. That's what your professors expect you to use in your research.
  • Narrow your search. Add a date range, keyword, etc. 
  • Expand keywords with truncation:  bicycl* (retrieves bicycle, bicycles, bicycled, bicycling).
  • Read the abstract of an article to find out if it really is beneficial to your research.
  • Ask for help:  http://researchguides.gonzaga.edu/reference. Librarians can suggest the best databases for your topic, help you with your search strategy, and answer questions about using library resources.

Database Searching Tips from Foley Librarians

  • LOOK AT THE WHOLE SCREEN FIRST. Before you start searching in an unfamiliar database, look at the whole search screen first. What search tools are available to you? Are there check boxes, limiters, subject headings, indexes, a link to get help?
  • KEEP IT SIMPLE. Search with only the most necessary keywords from your topic and don't use all of them at once. Example (keywords in italics): What are the effects of global warming on the animals in national parks?  You might want to get more specific and search for:  climate change, wildlife, Yellowstone
  • FIND A FEW (2-3) RELEVANT ARTICLES. You don't need to start with 20 articles; find a couple of very relevant ones and read those first. You may discover other topics, authors or references or you may decide to change your topic.
  • SEARCH USING SUBJECT HEADINGS.  Browse a database’s Thesaurus or list of Subject Terms to find subject headings relevant to your topic OR use a subject heading link in an article record to search for more articles with that heading. The Using Subject Headings tutorial below explains it better.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Accessibility | Proxy Logout