A-Z Databases

New Features in our Ebsco Resources

Now when accessing Ebsco databases you will automatically have a MyEbsco account created using your Gonzaga credentials through our Single Sign On (SSO) configuration.

Why am I prompted to review EBSCO's privacy policy before creating a MyEBSCO account?

Alreaday have a MyEbsco account?
How to Merge User Accounts

University Guests

On campus guests of the university can access our Ebsco resources via the "On Campus Guest Access" links on each Ebsco resource on the Databases A to Z list.

Would you like to access Google Scholar content through Foley Library? Here is how!

1. Add this link to your bookmark toolbar**: Reload in Foley Library Proxy Server
2. Find an article through Google Scholar, or other search method.
3. Click the link in your bookmark toolbar.
4. Login through the Proxy server with you Gonzaga credentials, if Foley subscribes to the resource you will now have access to our subscribed content.

**How to add the link to your toolbar:

Firefox: Right click and save Reload in Foley Library Proxy Server to your bookmark toolbar

Chrome and Safari: Click and drag Reload in Foley Library Proxy Server to your bookmark toolbar

While searching:

• Limit to peer-reviewed journals. That's what your professors expect you to use in your research.
• Narrow your search. Add a date range, keyword, etc. 
• Expand keywords with truncation:  bicycl* (retrieves bicycle, bicycles, bicycled, bicycling).
• Read the abstract of an article to find out if it really is beneficial to your research.
• Ask for help:  http://researchguides.gonzaga.edu/reference. Librarians can suggest the best databases for your topic, help you with your search strategy, and answer questions about using library resources.

Database Searching Tips from Foley Librarians

• LOOK AT THE WHOLE SCREEN FIRST. Before you start searching in an unfamiliar database, look at the whole search screen first. What search tools are available to you? Are there check boxes, limiters, subject headings, indexes, a link to get help?
• KEEP IT SIMPLE. Search with only the most necessary keywords from your topic and don't use all of them at once. Example (keywords in italics): What are the effects of global warming on the animals in national parks?  You might want to get more specific and search for:  climate change, wildlife, Yellowstone. 
• FIND A FEW (2-3) RELEVANT ARTICLES. You don't need to start with 20 articles; find a couple of very relevant ones and read those first. You may discover other topics, authors or references or you may decide to change your topic.
• SEARCH USING SUBJECT HEADINGS.  Browse a database’s Thesaurus or list of Subject Terms to find subject headings relevant to your topic OR use a subject heading link in an article record to search for more articles with that heading. The Using Subject Headings tutorial below explains it better.