Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Comcast Xfinity Users

COMCAST Xfinity USERS EXPERIENCING AN SSL ERROR!
Please follow these instructions to resolve this issue.

Temporary Resources due to COVID-19

In light of COVID-19, many publishers are making their licensed, electronic content freely available on a temporary basis to assist with the transition to online learning underway at many higher education institutions.

Publishers with free content due to COVID-19
Open Education Resources

 

Databases temporarily available:

COVID-19 Resources

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New Trial
New Trial
AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers world-renowned, interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. Researchers have access to the latest editions of renowned engineering handbooks and textbooks, data visualization tools, graphs, tables, and faculty created videos.
New Trial
New Trial
Academic Video Online delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
New Trial
New Trial
New Trial
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
New Trial
Cambridge Elements are a new concept in academic publishing and scholarly communication, combining the best features of books and journals. They consist of original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research, organised into focused series edited by leading scholars, and provide comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences.
New Trial
Cambridge Histories a reference collection spanning 350 volumes in 10 subject areas.
New Trial
New Trial
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals across humanities, social sciences, and more. Their ebook and journal collection is generously now available through the end of June to support online distance learning.
Trial
EBSCOhost E-Books
Expanded full text access to e-books available through June 30th. Additional titles now available in nursing and allied health (706 titles), psychotherapy and counseling (560 titles), business (21200 titles), education (4353 titles), history, (18750 titles), engineering (6400 titles) and religion (8900 titles). Also including a collection of university press books (36, 490 titles), from presses such as MIT, Harvard, Johns Hopkins, Oxford and Princeton and 652 titles from Harvard Business Review Press. Note: the Harvard Business Review Press titles are only available until May 19.
New Trial
New
The world's largest archive of digital social science data. Contains over 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. (Note: You must create a personal account to access the datasets. ICPSR IS ONLY AVAILABLE TO THE GONZAGA COMMUNITY.)
New Trial
JoVE Science Education is a revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations.
New Trial
New Trial
The complete collection from MIT Press, with more than 2,500 eBooks and approximately 175 added each year, or subject-specific collections.

Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
New Trial
A unique archive spanning more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more..
New Trial
OntheBoardsTV delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop or mobile device.
New Trial
An online U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
New Trial
New Trial
*The R2 Digital Library is a web based database available from Rittenhouse Book Distributors. It offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web based platform.
**Access is limited to 3 concurrent users
New Trial
256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be available for a period of 90 days.

Connecting Google Scholar to the Foley collection

Would you like to access Google Scholar content through Foley Library? Here is how!

  1. Add this link to your bookmark toolbar**: Reload in Foley Library Proxy Server
  2. Find an article through Google Scholar, or other search method.
  3. Click the link in your bookmark toolbar.
  4. Login through the Proxy server with you Gonzaga credentials, if Foley subscribes to the resource you will now have access to our subscribed content.

**How to add the link to your toolbar:

Firefox: Right click and save Reload in Foley Library Proxy Server to your bookmark toolbar

Chrome and Safari: Click and drag Reload in Foley Library Proxy Server to your bookmark toolbar

 

Database Searching Tips & Tricks

While searching:

  • Limit to peer-reviewed journals. That's what your professors expect you to use in your research.
  • Narrow your search. Add a date range, keyword, etc. 
  • Expand keywords with truncation:  bicycl* (retrieves bicycle, bicycles, bicycled, bicycling).
  • Read the abstract of an article to find out if it really is beneficial to your research.
  • Ask for help:  http://researchguides.gonzaga.edu/reference. Librarians can suggest the best databases for your topic, help you with your search strategy, and answer questions about using library resources.

Database Searching Tips from Foley Librarians

  • LOOK AT THE WHOLE SCREEN FIRST. Before you start searching in an unfamiliar database, look at the whole search screen first. What search tools are available to you? Are there check boxes, limiters, subject headings, indexes, a link to get help?
  • KEEP IT SIMPLE. Search with only the most necessary keywords from your topic and don't use all of them at once. Example (keywords in italics): What are the effects of global warming on the animals in national parks?  You might want to get more specific and search for:  climate change, wildlife, Yellowstone
  • FIND A FEW (2-3) RELEVANT ARTICLES. You don't need to start with 20 articles; find a couple of very relevant ones and read those first. You may discover other topics, authors or references or you may decide to change your topic.
  • SEARCH USING SUBJECT HEADINGS.  Browse a database’s Thesaurus or list of Subject Terms to find subject headings relevant to your topic OR use a subject heading link in an article record to search for more articles with that heading. The Using Subject Headings tutorial below explains it better.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Accessibility | Proxy Logout