ENGL 193: Unsettling the American West Library Guide: Librarian!

Spokesman Review

• Current Web Site
  • Spokesman Review Current Web Access ON CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY. As long as you are on-campus, you can automatically use the entire Spokesman Review web site without having to have a paid account. There is no off-campus access.
• 1994-Present
  • ProQuest US NewsStream has the Spokesman from the present back to 1994
• Pre-1994
  • Gonzaga doesn't have access to the Spokesman Review historical archives. However, the Spokane Public Library does, and they have volunteered to give GU students a local library card so you can access it. To get a local card:
    • Go here: https://www.spokanelibrary.org/signup
    • Fill out the form and put down the GU address as the home address, 502 E Boone Ave, Spokane, WA 99258
    • After the form is complete you will receive a temporary card number. Save this number.
    • Call 509-444-5300, press 0 to talk to a staff member, and mention that you are a GU student and need to verify your card to get full borrowing privileges. The SPL staff have been instructed to upgrade GU students' cards. This will allow you access to the databases, including the Spokesman Archive
    • Find the Spokesman Archive at http://spokane-public.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/hnpwashingtoncollection?accountid=308.

Local Archives

• Foley Library’s Digital Archives and Collections: Digitized editions of the Gonzaga Bulletin, Spires Yearbook, and many images of Gonzaga’s campus from the late 19th Century to the present era.
• Spokane Public Library's Northwest Room Over a century's worth of local information on biography, house and neighborhood history, photos, and high school yearbooks has been digitized. The physical archive should be open for business, but double check.
• Spokane City/County Historic Preservation Office and the Spokane Historic Landmarks Commission The Spokane City/County Historic Preservation Office and the Spokane Historic Landmarks Commission are local government programs that share responsibility for the stewardship of historic and architecturally significant properties within the City of Spokane and unincorporated areas of Spokane County.
• Coeur d'Alene Press Digital Archives Includes The Coeur d'Alene Press archives, 1892-1953. Facsimiles - browsable but not really searchable. Also CDA yearbooks
• Gonzaga University Archives and Special Collections (UASC) The University Archives & Special Collections at Foley Library is open for onsite use by appointment. Email uasc@gonzaga.edu to set something up.
• Northwest Museum of Art and Culture (MAC) The MAC collects and and preserves cultural material that portrays the diverse experience of life in the Inland Northwest, past and present. This link directs you to the MAC's online archives.

Regional Archives

• Archives West (from Orbis-Cascade Alliance) Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.
• Washington State Library: Digital Collections and Resources Provides open access to digitized images, maps, documents, and newspapers related to the history of Washington State.
• Washington State Archives: Digital Archives The Washington State Digital Archives is dedicated to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value.
• Chronicling America: Washington Search Washington State historic newspaper pages from 1836-1963.

Other Local Information Resource Type Examples

• Depending on your topic of study, there may be organizations or interest groups who collect and/or share information. For example, if your topic is the Spokane River:
  • Avista Utilities’ site has an interactive map of the Spokane River and a lot of information about history, water quality, recreation, etc.: https://myavista.com/storymap/spokaneriver/index.html
  • Spokane Riverkeepers website is a wealth of conservation and protection information: https://www.spokaneriverkeeper.org/
  • Spokane River Forum, another group focused on the river and managing its many stakeholders: https://spokaneriver.net/

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

Series 1 1691-1820

Series 2 1821-1837

Series 3 1838-1852

Series 4 1853-1865

Series 5 1866-1877

American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism Primary sources from FBI files that relate to the American Indian Movement (AIM), documenting the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Also searchable in Archives Unbound.

American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893 Digital access to over 14,000 letters written by Presbyterian missionaries from 1833 to 1893. Their letters describe native peoples and cultures, tribal factionalism, relations with the U.S. government and the many challenges of their work. Also searchable in Archives Unbound.

Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive Using the Columbia River for thematic coherence, collaborators in this project (2002-04) promote appreciation and use of primary sources in historical study.

Indigenous Peoples: North America (Gale) Provides primary source materials including manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, and images of artwork related to indigenous peoples in the U.S. and Canada. 

New York Times through Proquest's Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) New York Times from 1851-2008 with index from 1851-1993.

Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 Comprised of over 71,000 images from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.

War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824 The rare primary sources in this collection chronicle the unique, often controversial, relationship between the U.S. government and the Native American nations. Also searchable in Archives Unbound.

Biography Reference Center (EBSCO) Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. It contains more than 430,000 full text biographies of authors, artists, athletes, authors, world leaders, explorers, scientists and many others.

Gale eBooks | History Includes reference sources from selected dictionaries, directories, and encyclopedias.

History Study Center (ProQuest) An Online resource providing a vast collection primary and secondary sources for the study of history, including global history from ancient times to the present day. It is suitable for a wide range of users, from high school students looking for quick and reliable facts on a historical topic, to researchers examining hard-to-find primary source texts.

Humanities Abstracts (EBSCO) This database provides abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Humanities Abstracts covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.

JSTOR Interdisciplinary database for core journals in the fields of the arts & humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, providing archival access to each journal beginning with volume 1.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Includes digital facsimile images of articles and full pages for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers  For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Also searchable in  Artemis Primary Sources

Oxford Reference Online | History Provides dictionary and encyclopedic information.