LibGuides: Human Physiology: Start Here

Human Physiology Quick Links

BioMed Central
BioMed Central (BMC), a subset of Springer Nature and one of the first and largest open access STEM publishers, provides access to over 300 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of fields, including but not limited to biology, medicine, chemistry, and environmental studies.
Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO)
Covers a broad range of biomedical disciplines, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and pre-clinical sciences.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) largest bibliographic database, containing more than 25 million journal article citations in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine and health. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, with selected coverage prior to that period. MEDLINE records are indexed using NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Use this database to search MEDLINE using the EBSCO search interface.
PubMed
PubMed is an openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text open access content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free, open access archive for full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles. PMC is searchable through the PubMed interface, and is produced and maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)
Definitive research tool for finding articles in sports & sports medicine.

Anatomy Resources

Visible Body
Visible Body is a 3D human anatomy resource. This link takes you to the Ovid database portal where you'll find Visible Body on the menu bar.

Watch the MeSH Video (11 min)

Fortunately for researchers in the biological and medical sciences, a key database, MEDLINE, has a robust controlled vocabulary called MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). To understand how the MeSH vocabulary is constructed, watch the video from the National Library of Medicine.