Start here to find hundreds of thousands of books, journals, audio-visual media, and more, housed at Foley and available to you electronically.
Doing research in international studies at Gonzaga? Here is your guide for everything that Foley Library offers to make your research project the best it can be. Start with the Quick Links box to the left or choose one of the tabs at the top of the page to search for information on books, articles, web materials and more. Any questions? Contact me, my information is in the box to the right.
International Studies Quick Links
Foley Quick Links
The Periodicals@Foley link will allow you to search for specific journals. If you want to see a list of journals in international studies and related subjects check out specific subject links.
Start here to find hundreds of thousands of books, journals, audio-visual media, and more, housed at Foley and available to you electronically.
Start here to find hundreds of thousands of books, journals, audio-visual media, and more, housed at Foley and available to you electronically.
Foreign Relations of the United States (begins 1861) - General Collection KZ 233.U55
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States - To locate papers for a specific president, do Title Keyword search of the library catalog for public papers and the name of the individual president. Foley's holdings start with Herbert Hoover and continue through Gerald Ford (approx. 1929-1977). Papers for administrations from George H.W. Bush through Barack Obama are located online.
Treaties in force (1941-present) - General Collection KZ235.T74; Latest edition in Reference Collection; Online: Latest issue & Archived
Foley doesn't have what you need?
Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook
This tab is for use of Laura Brunell's cross-listed course, POL 367/INST 393. The intent of it is to give you a resource as you look for ideas related to your particular topic on the new europe.
The course website, can be found here [tba].
Topics covered include, but are not limited to:
European Union Politics
by
An authoritative text that covers both EU theories and the EU institutions, alongside material on the key policies, issues and debate. This text is an invaluable resource that provides students with a solid foundation in the subject.In the third edition Michelle Cini has added to the team of international specialists. Divided into five parts: The historical context; Theories and conceptual approaches; Institutions and actors; Policy and policy-making in the EU; Issues and debates, the book provides comprehensive coverage of ademanding subject area.The new edition includes two new chapters on Enviornmental Policy and Policy-Making in the EU.The online resource centre has been updated and additionational material added.Student resources:* Case studies by chapter with web links and further learning resources* New maps of enlargement* New interactive time line* Multiple choice quesions* Bibliographies of key figures in EU history* Member state position on the EU* Links to relevant OUP articles* Exam revision guidance* Quarterly updatesLecturer resources:PowerPoints
Gender Politics in the Expanding European Union
by
In May 2004, after bringing their legislation into accordance with EU regulations, ten more countries joined the European Union. The contributors to this volume assess the impact of this historical development on gender relations in the new and old EU member states. Instead of focusing on either western or eastern Europe, this book investigates the similarities and differences in diverse parts of Europe. Although initially limited, gender equality was part of the original framework of the European Union, an organization often more open than national governments to feminist demands, as this volume illustrates with case studies from eastern and western Europe. The enlargement process thus provides some important policy instruments for increasing equality between men and women.
Why Europe Matters
by
Critics like to depict the European Union as undemocratic and unpopular, but their arguments are too often based on myths and misunderstandings. This does us all a disservice, and in this period of uncertainty about the future of Europe it is more important than ever that we have a firm grasp of the issues at stake. This powerful new book debunks the misconceptions surrounding the EU and makes a compelling and comprehensive case for the benefits of European integration. It shows how the EU has improved the lives of Europeans in countless ways, and how it has given Europe a powerful presence on the international stage. Guaranteed to illuminate as well as spark debate, this book will appeal to anyone who seeks to better understand what Europe means and why it matters.
This area has resources for students who have chosen to Major or Minor in Asian Studies through International Studies.
This guide is focused on resources specific to the subfield.
