LibGuides: Scholarly Metrics & Publishing: Secondary Research

Cited Reference Searching

The citation index has come a long way. The process of searching for articles that have cited a previously published work used to be a manual and time consuming endeavor. Now that most indices are online, cited reference searching has become much quicker and more graphically powerful. The following databases have cited reference search features.

Communication Source (EBSCO)
Full-text access to journals in all fields related to the communication arts, including journalism, mass media, advertising, public relations and integrative media, as well as interpersonal and organizational communication.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
The Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library provides full-text access to journals, transactions, and magazines and conference proceedings published since 1998 and IEEE standards from 1948 to the present.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
This PsycINFO database is now titled APA PsycINFO.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
A comprehensive, full-text database covering sociology and related disciplines, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Web of Science/Web of Knowledge
A multidisciplinary database for leading journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use this database to identify the number of citations to articles in scholarly journals as well as locating all cited references captured from indexed journals.