A research guide to introduce you to the field of Hate Studies. You'll find the materials, search tools, and other resources you need to start your research. If you need any assistance, please contact your librarian.
The Extremist Files database contains profiles of various prominent extremists and extremist organizations. It also examines the histories and core beliefs – or ideologies – of the most common types of extremist movements.
An annotated bibliography of resources in hate studies. Topics include: combatting hate, aspects of hate, US government documents related to hate, reports from state advisory committees on civil rights, and videos.
Highlights opposing viewpoints related to controversial and contemporary issues. Features viewpoints, articles from the news, journals and magazines, as well as audio and video clips. Includes relevant statistics, reference materials and websites.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against HumanityGenocide: the systematic annihilation of a group of people for simply being who they are, whether in ethnic, religious or social terms. It has been with us since the beginning of history. The most widely-studied and catastrophic examples are, however, historically close: the Nazi Holocaust against the Jew, ethnic cleansing in Bosnia, and tribal warfare in Rwanda. Genocide is unfortunately a key feature of the study of world history at nearly every level. The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity at specific groups or at least punishing those who have committed such crimes.
Publication Date: 2004-10-29
Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook by Donald Altschiller; Mildred Vasan (Editor)How are hate crimes different from other crimes committed against individuals? Should the legal penalties be harsher? These questions and many more are explored in Hate Crimes, the first reference source on this important topic. This volume includes an overview of legislation, statistics on hate crimes, and biographies of individuals combating violent extremist activities. A historical survey of the main targets of hate crimes--gays and lesbians, Jews, African Americans, and Asian Americans--is also featured.
Call Number: HV6773.52 .A47 1999
Publication Date: 1999
White Awareness Handbook for Anti-Racism Training by Judy H. KatzIn White Awareness, "a group training program is presented in which white people work together in a nonthreatening environment to alter deeply ingrained, often unconscious racist attitudes and then embark on a program of behavioral change. The program has been used with measurable success in many settings. It can be adapted to the specific setting and needs of the participants. After an introduction explaining the principles on which the program is based, a detailed step-by-step training format is presented. The six group experiences, called stages, center on the following themes: racism, definitions and inconsistencies; confronting the reality of racism; dealing with feelings; cultural differences; exploring cultural racism, the meaning of whiteness; individual racism; and developing action strategies. Instructions and suggestions for conducting each session are provided, along with recommended readings, lists of materials required, and sources of materials." Social Work Research and Abstracts.
Publication Date: 1978-01-01
The Cambridge Handbook of the Psychology of Prejudice by Chris Sibley; Fiona Kate Barlow (Editor)The Cambridge Handbook of the Psychology of Prejudice aims to answer the questions: why is prejudice so persistent? How does it affect people exposed to it? And what can we do about it? Providing a comprehensive examination of prejudice from its evolutionary beginnings and environmental influences through to its manifestations and consequences, this Handbook is an essential resource for scholars and students who are passionate about understanding prejudice, social change, collective action, and prejudice reduction. Featuring cutting-edge research from top scholars in the field, the chapters provide an overview of psychological models of prejudice; investigate prejudice in specific domains such as race, religion, gender, and appearance; and develop explicit, evidence-based strategies for disrupting the processes that produce and maintain prejudice. This Handbook challenges researchers and readers to move beyond their comfort zone, and sets the agenda for future avenues of research, policy, and intervention.