LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Articles

Finding Articles

Before getting started searching for journal articles, we recommend you review the Searching Health Sciences Literature guide, which will help guide you through the process of collecting research for a literature review.

Searching for Qualitative Research? Take a look at our guide, which includes tips on how to find qualitative research: Qualitative Research: General Search Tips

Top Nursing Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, dating as far back as 1840. Materials cover a wide range of psychological topics, including the psychological aspects of related fields, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The #1 nursing database!
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This collection of systematic reviews and protocols summarizes and interprets the results of medical research.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The largest subset of PubMed, with the EBSCO search interface.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

More Health Sciences Databases

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Research based focus on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health are provided in this full-text database.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central (BMC), a subset of Springer Nature and one of the first and largest open access STEM publishers, provides access to over 300 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of fields, including but not limited to biology, medicine, chemistry, and environmental studies.
Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to full-text, indexed and abstracted biomedical research journals covering a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. Coverage also extends to include structured research evaluating current and past health care systems.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to health and wellness resources from journals and magazines, reference books, evidence based health reports, medical images and videos.
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes health journals and magazines covering all aspects of family health, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from care to dentistry.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Periodicals and reference content for nursing and allied health students and consumer health researchers.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Authoritative content for nursing professionals and students.
Health Source-Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Consumer oriented health databases, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text academic journals focusing on the health sciences, nursing and medicine.
MedicLatina (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 140 peer-reviewed medical journals.
MEDLINE (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) largest bibliographic database, containing more than 25 million journal article citations in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine and health. MEDLINE includes literature published from 1966 to present, with selected coverage prior to that period. MEDLINE records are indexed using NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Use this database to search MEDLINE using the Web of Science/Web of Knowledge search interface.
Ovid Nursing: Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Full text professional and scholarly nursing journals from the Ovid Nursing collection.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
A one-stop resource for information on diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, research, and breaking news in psychiatry. Includes access to APA journals, Psychiatric News, the DSM-5, best-selling textbooks, APA Practice Guidelines, and continuing medical education.
PsychiatryOnline Premium Books
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Full text content from 1965- present.
Sigma Repository This link opens in a new window
This is an interesting collection curated by Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society for Nursing and dedicated to sharing works created by nurses from around the world. The materials are in the form of an open source, full-text, academic, clinical repository, and all items submitted to the collection undergo peer-review by the “Independent Submissions community”.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive database for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals dating back to 1985.

General Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of academic articles.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete covers all aspects of business topics and scholarship, providing abstracts and full text access to academic journals in all business and related fields.
Ingenta Connect This link opens in a new window
Tables of contents coverage for over 25,000 scholarly academic journals and full-text access for selected titles.
ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Article database covering a wide range of topics. Includes academic journal and magazine articles.