Music

A guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress.

Provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials.

Music Dissertations

A site devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference from Brigham Young University.

The American Musicological Society's purpose is to advance scholarship in the various fields of music through research, learning, and teaching.

SMPC goals: to further the scientific and scholarly understanding of music from a broad range of disciplines, including theory, psychology, psychophysics, linguistics, neurology, neurophysiology, ethology, ethnomusicology, artificial intelligence, computer technology, physics and engineering.

The Society for Music Theory promotes the development of all aspects of the discipline of music theory.

The heart of Discogs is a user-built database of music. More than 232,000 people have contributed some piece of knowledge, to build up a catalog of more than 5,900,000 recordings and 3,800,000 artists.

Companion to the San Francisco Symphony mini-series with Michael Tillson Thomas that "focuses on the meaning of music, with episodes devoted to Beethoven, Stravinsky, and Copland.

An educational resource celebrating the history of musical theater, film, and television with specific musicals, people, and other topics highlighted in special features.

Provides a web-based interface to searching databases containing musical themes.

The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University. The full collection consists of approximately 500,000 items, of which perhaps 250,000 are currently available for use. It is one of the largest collections of sheet music in any library in the United States. The sheet music, primarily vocal music of American imprint, dates from the 18th century to the present day, with the largest concentration of titles in the period 1840-1950.