Modern Languages and Literatures

MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, is a comprehensive database for the study of language, literature, folklore, composition and rhetoric, linguistics, and film. It contains abstracts and some full text for scholarly works, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and more, from the early 20th century to the present.

Access a range of Oxford companion guides and dictionaries for topics in literature: Critical Theory, Chinese Literature, African American Literature, Arabic Literary Terms and Devices, and more.

Introductory resources on world authors, including biographies, critical essays, multimedia and reference materials.

Interdisciplinary database for core journals in the fields of the arts & humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, providing archival access to each journal beginning with volume 1.

Gale Literature (formerly Artemis Literary Sources) is a discovery tool for searching a wide range of literature resources. It includes biographical information, literary overviews, literary criticism and reviews on more than 150,000 writers from all time periods and from around the world.

Dedicated to research on international affairs, CIAO includes many different document types, including books, journals, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences and policy briefs, as well as case studies. Includes publications from 1991-present.

Provides in-depth reports written by journalists on congressional legislative issues on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

Background cultural and sociological information on the countries and cultures of the world, targeted at K-12 students and educators.

A database of streaming videos on academic subjects. Subject coverage includes documentary films on gender studies, race studies, media studies and communication, debt and consumerism, and politics and current issues.

An online music database with over 50,000 tracks including reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

A music research database devoted to musical cultures from around the world. Features 10 volumes on regional music and general resources with extensive scholarship and audio samples.

A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word and natural and human-made sounds from around the world.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digital archive of primary source documents from the 19th century (1800-1899). The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives, and consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.

Provides full-text access to over 500 journals from university presses and scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and others.