Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free Education Resources During COVID-19

This guide provides an overview of publishers/vendors who have made licensed content available for free during the COVID-19 outbreak, as well as other free resources.

Publishers/Vendors

**Note: This list was last updated in May 2020.**

AccessEngineering

This database of McGraw Hill engineering eBooks includes textbooks, reference works, handbooks, and more. This will be available through May 31st.

ACM Digital Library

The Association for Computing Machinery is making all content published in the ACM Digital Library freely accessible through June 30, 2020.

American Mathematical Society

AMS is providing instructors with complimentary electronic “reserve” copies of textbooks for cases in which students do not have access to their print copies (use the “request desk copy” link on the specific textbook page). In addition, AMS is partnering with ProQuest to allow multi-user access through mid-June to all e-books purchased on ProQuest platforms.

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews has made all of their journals freely available through April 30, 2020. Update on 4/30/20: This offer has been extended through June 15, 2020.

AVON: Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Access is available until July 1, 2020.

BioDigital

BioDigital has made Academic Team Accounts free until July 1, 2020 to help instructors leverage BioDigital's interactive anatomy and disease platform during this crisis. Fill out this form to get started.

Bloomsbury Drama Online

Access to the Bloomsbury database, Drama Online, is available until May 31, 2020.

Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press is offering free access to a collection of over 2,000 ebooks hosted on Cambridge Core until the end of May. This collection includes:

Cengage

For US colleges experiencing unplanned, mid-semester impacts due to COVID-19, Cengage is offering students free access to all of their digital platforms and 14,000 ebooks through Cengage Unlimited, for the remainder of this semester.

DeGruyter

De Gruyter and our University Press partners are providing complete access to 75,000 titles from 1650 to 2106 through June 30, 2020.

Duke University Press

Duke University Press is providing complimentary electronic access to their book and journal content to support online courses through the end of June. They are also opening archival content for around 20 of their journals hosted on Project MUSE through the end of June.

EBSCO eBooks

Expanded full text access to EBSCO e-books is available through June 30th. Additional titles are now available in nursing and allied health (706 titles), psychotherapy and counseling (560 titles), business (21200 titles), education (4353 titles), history, (18750 titles), engineering (6400 titles) and religion (8900 titles). Also included is a collection of university press books (36,490 titles), from presses such as MIT, Harvard, Johns Hopkins, Oxford and Princeton and 652 titles from Harvard Business Review Press. Note: the Harvard Business Review Press titles are only available until May 19.

Elsevier ScienceDirect

Expanded full-text access to all 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect is available for a period of 90 days.

Gale

Gale is offering educators and librarians free access to digital content and resources to enhance instruction and learning. Resources include: interdisciplinary, curriculum-aligned resources to support online learning; live and on-demand training materials; e-books on virtual learning; and more.

Getty Publications

Getty is offering free access to more than 300 books to read and download for free through June.

IEEE

Access to IEEE eLearning Courses is available through May 31st. Read more about what’s in this package here.

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive has suspended waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in its lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later. Learn more.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)

JoVE is providing all of their education video content free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th.

JSTOR

JSTOR and participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19. Expanded access includes more than 25,000 books available at no charge. The number of books available through this effort is growing daily as more publishers opt in.

Kanopy

With the support of select content partners, Kanopy is making select films available to watch at no cost from March 13 through April 12 (see downloadable film guide). Additionally, starting Monday, March 16, 2020 all titles in "The Great Courses" catalog will be available to use at no additional cost for the next 4 weeks.

MIT Press

MIT Press is offering complimentary access to the MIT Press Direct collection of eBooks until June 30, 2020.

New Day Films

You can temporarily stream many New Day films for free for 14 days. Access is on a title-by-tile bases, so one you've selected a film from the list of eligible films, contact your Liaison Librarian to arrange setup through Foley Library (allow up to one week for processing).

NewspaperArchive.com

Free access is now available to NewspaperArchive.com, the largest historical newspaper database containing tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present.

Ohio State University Press

All titles published from 2015-2019 have been opened up in the OSU Library's repository, Knowledge Bank.

OnTheBoardsTV

OntheBoards.tv offering free full-length performance films through April 30, 2020. The films featured on the website include international and US-based contemporary artists, some of whom are rarely seen live stateside, with works that might not be performed again.

OVID - Wolters Kluwer

Free access to the following databases is available through June 2, 2020:

Oxford University Press

Oxford University Press is offering free access for students to OUP Higher Education eBooks for the remainder of the spring semester through RedShelf and Vital Source. They are also providing the following free resources: access to digital, supplemental course materials (videos, simulations, animations, activities, flashcards, quizzes, test banks, PowerPoints, etc.); eBook desk copies for instructors; webinars for teaching specific disciplines online; and free access to online courses from their sister company Epigeum to help instructors learn strategies for managing the digital classroom.

PolicyMap

PolicyMap is providing free access through June 30, 2020. PolicyMap is an online mapping tool with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs, and more in communities across the US.

Project MUSE

Project MUSE is making scholarly content from participating publishers temporarily available for free on their platform. Select participating publishers include:

View the complete list of publishers at https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/.

ProQuest E-book Central

Starting now, ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from over 50 publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period.

R2 Digital Library

The R2 Digital Library e-book database is now offering no charge access until May 31, 2020. The database includes medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers. **Access is limited to 3 concurrent users

RedShelf

RedShelf is offering up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. The program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25.

Sage

Sage is providing access to e-books and videos until July 17, 2020 through the following databases:

  • SAGE Knowledge (video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences)
  • SAGE Video (educational videos across key social science disciplines)
  • SAGE Research Methods Video (tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process)

University of California Press

In recognition of the impact of coronavirus on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press has made all of their online journal content free to all through June 2020.

University of Michigan Press

Beginning on Friday, March 20, access restrictions will be removed for all 1,150+ titles in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) until June 2, 2020. The UMP EBC contains the Press’s scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized.

VitalSource

From March 16 through May 25, 2020, access to an expansive catalog of eTexts will be available for free to students at semester-calendar institutions who have been impacted by recent campus closures. Students simply log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address and can then view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf. Publishers include APA, Cengage Learning, Elsevier, MacMillian Learning, Pearson Education, Routledge/Taylor & Francis, Wiley, and many more.

Accessibility | Proxy Logout