Skip to main content

University Archives: University Archives

Gonzaga University Archives

Gonzaga postcard circa 1920's
Gonzaga University postcard, circa 1920s


The University Archives are the depository for the permanent record of Gonzaga University. Spanning the entire history of the University from 1887-present, the University Archives document both the daily administration of Gonzaga University and special events throughout the years.

Mission Statement
The University Archives exists to appraise, collect, organize, preserve, and make available Gonzaga University material of permanent historical value. Providing facilities for the retention, preservation, servicing, and research use of these records, the Archives also serves as a research center for the study of Gonzaga's history by the University Community and others. The Archives provides information services to assist in the University's administration and operation and serves in a public relations capacity by promoting knowledge and understanding of the origins, programs, and goals of Gonzaga.

Request Materials with Aeon

Requests to access materials from UASC are submitted using Aeon. This system allows UASC staff to more quickly and accurately fulfill your requests.

Aeon requests may be submitted before your visit, or can be completed with the assistance of UASC staff during a reference appointment.

Click to access the Aeon system, including detailed instructions for creating an Aeon account and submitting requests for materials.

Collections within the University Archives

The Archives houses manuscripts, published material, photographs, sound recordings, film, scrapbooks, video, and artifacts. Here are some of the collections available:

Gonzaga University Catalogues
Holdings from 1887-1930 available online
1887 - present

Gonzaga University Bulletin (Newspaper) LH1.G6 B85
1927 - 1929
1932 - 1951
1954 - present

Spires ( Yearbook) LD2001.G65 S65
Holdings available online

1924
1925
1929
1945 - 1951
1955 - 1956
1958 - present

Gonzaga in Florence Yearbooks LD2001.G65 G6
Holdings available online
1970 - 1984

Spireside (Alumni Newsletter) LH1.G6 S655
1954 - 1970

Signum (Alumni Newsletter) LH1.G6 G6861
1968 - 1999

Faculty Senate Collection (finding guide here)
2003 - 2010

SPURS and Setons Scrapbooks
Holdings available online

1951 - 2001

Institute of Hate Studies Collection 
1973-2016, predominant 1996-2011

Additional collections are available through the GU Digital Collections.

Photograph Collections

 

Gonzaga pep club

 

The University Archives has several large photograph collections of Gonzaga:

1) University Archives Photograph Collection, 1887 - 2012 - images showing GU buildings, events, organizations, faculty/staff, students, schools and departments, sports, and others.  Contact UASC for inventory.

2) Spires/Student Publications Photographs, 1949 - 2012 - Images used to publish the yearbook or student newspaper.  Images are arranged chronologically then by subject.  Contact UASC for inventory. 

3) MarCom Photograph Collection, 1988 - 2009 - images taken by personnel from Marketing and Communications Department on campus.  Images are arranged chonologically.  Contact USAC for inventory.

4) Richard T. Lewis Negative Collection, 1947 - 1961 - Lewis was Gonzaga's photographer and captured various campus activities and people.  Images are arranged according to Lewis' numbering scheme.  Contact USAC for inventory.

5) Rogues Gallery Images, 1887 - 1990 - Images housed in the hallways of College Hall and are arranged chronologically.  Holdings are available  on-line.