Essentials of Nursing Research by
Now in full color, the Sixth Edition of this highly acclaimed introductory research text continues to focus on how to read, understand, analyze, and evaluate research for use in nursing practice. This thoroughly updated edition has a greater focus on evidence-based practice, developing critiquing skills, and continued expansion of qualitative research. The text includes four full research reports, two of which have full written critiques. A new Instructor's Resource CD-ROM includes PowerPoint slides and actual complete critiques (done by the author) which help faculty guide students' learning of how to critique research articles. The Student's CD-ROM has review questions and activity sheets which help increase comprehension, strengthen recall, and develop critiquing skills.
Evidence-Based Nursing by
This book is a key resource designed to teach undergraduate nursing students how to engage in evidence-based practice (EBP). This text allows students to posses a basic knowledge regarding research methodology and critically appraise published research. Essentials of Evidence-Based Nursing addresses learning objectives using an organized, easy to read approach that stands out from other texts. Perfect for undergraduate students and practicing nurses who have not had exposure to evidence-based practice content!
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
A brief "how-to" guide to evidence-based practice for nurses What to do, how to do it, and why This guide explains everything you need to know to successfully implement evidence-based practice (EBP). Carefully progressing from the fundamental facts to full application, the book tells you exactly what EBP is, and describes how to: Create a culture of EBPUse journal clubsAnswer questions with nursing researchRelate EBP and nursing research to your journey to designation Build your confidence as you increase your knowledge Making the transition to EBP requires learning new skills and using a different process for clinical decision making. To smooth and speed your progress, this extremely practical reference includes: Case studies that reveal the real-life consequences, so you can learn from the successes of your colleaguesExercises to familiarize you with EBP and give you a preview of practiceHelpful checklists to reinforce the textExamples from practice to help you implement EBP in your own facility Improve outcomes, patient care, and satisfaction A successful EBP program brings benefits for you, your patients, and your facility. Whether you are new to nursing or an experienced clinician who just needs to master EBP, this guide will give you the answers to all your questions.Book Topics at a Glance Chapter 1: What is evidence-based practice? Chapter 2: Creating a culture of evidence-based practice Chapter 3: Accessing and appraising resources Chapter 4: Evidence-based practice becomes a reality Chapter 5: Journal clubs Chapter 6: Answering questions with nursing research Chapter 7: Nursing excellence and evidence-based practice Chapter 8: Examples of evidence-based nursing practice Learning objectives include: Differentiate evidence-based practice, research, research utilization, and quality improvementDescribe the importance of EBP to nursing practice and high-quality patient careIdentify strategies to establish a culture for inquiry and EBPIdentify why journal clubs are an effective way to start EBPDiscuss approaches to developing a nursing research projectIdentify approaches to demonstrating the links between EBP and nursing excellence and ANCC Magnet Recognition(R)Identify ways to engage nursing staff members in EBPFaculty Disclosure Statement HCPro Inc. has confirmed that none of the faculty/presenters, planners, contributors, or their partners/spouses have any relevant financial relationships to disclose related to the content of this educational activity.The HCPro Risk-Free Money-Back Guarantee If for any reason "Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing" does not meet your needs, return it within 30 days and you will receive a prompt, polite, 100% refund--no questions asked. We guarantee it
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by
Written in a friendly, conversational style, this textbook covers all the information you need to use evidence-based practice to improve patient outcomes. Real world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter show you how to take a clinical issue from inquiry to a sustainable solution that drives a preferred standard of care.
Evidence-Based Nursing by
Written in response to numerous requests by nurse practitioners and other graduate faculty for a nursing literature resource, this new two-color book is based on the Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Practice by Dr. Gordon Guyatt and Dr. Drummond Rennie, published in 2001 by the AMA. Revised for the nursing audience, Evidence-Based Nursing is a reader-friendly, accessible guide that features plentiful examples from the nursing literature and the addition of specific nursing issues such as qualitative research, with direct application for clinical practice. Drs. DiCenso, Ciliska, and Guyatt are three of the leaders in the evidence-based nursing community and command worldwide recognition. Evidence-Based Nursing will enable nurses to frame their clinical questions in a way that will help them find and distinguish between strong and weak evidence; clearly understand study results; weigh the risks and benefits of management options; and apply the evidence to their individual patients to improve outcomes. This is the only book of its kind that helps nurses use the nursing literature effectively to solve patient problems. Three-step approach to dissecting a problem - to help find the best evidence and improve patient care, most questions can be divided into three parts: (1) Are the results valid? (2) What are the results? and (3) How can I apply the results to patient care? Part One - The Basics: Using the Nursing Literature provides a basic approach to the problems faced by nurses when determining optimal care, predicting patient progress, and protecting patients from potentially harmful side effects and includes a literature assessment summary and management recommendations. Part Two - Beyond the Basics: Using and Teaching the Principles of Evidence-Based Nursing expands on Part One, providing concrete examples through the presentation of cases. Two-part organization helps both beginners and those more accomplished at using the nursing literature. Clinical Scenario provides a brief but detailed description of a clinical situation that requires the application of research through a critical thinking process. Using the Guide examines a clinical scenario, and then evaluates the way in which research findings are collected, analyzed, and applied to the resolution of the problem presented in the scenario. Free CD-ROM contains everything found in the book, allowing for electronic outlining, content filtering, full-text searching, and alternative content organizations.
An Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Health Care by
This the first basic, comprehensive text on evidence-based practice for health care workers, providing an introductory perspective of evidence-based practice in nursing and health care. Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice also presents evidence to support infrastructure, organizational culture, caregiver competencies, staffing and scheduling systems, and evaluation of the outcomes of service.
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
Building on the strength of previous versions, the fourth edition of this foundational text is fully revised to include updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use, refinement in real-life settings, and feedback from nurses and other healthcare professionals around the world.
Nursing Research by
Thoroughly updated and revised to emphasize the link between research and evidence-based practice, this Eighth Edition of a classic textbook presents state-of-the-art methods for conducting high-quality studies. New chapters offer guidance on developing self-report scales, conducting systematic reviews, and enhancing the integrity of qualitative studies. The ancillary Resource Manual includes application exercises, models of comprehensive research critiques, a full NINR grant application, and a "must-have" Toolkit on a CD-ROM, containing a treasure-trove of exemplary research tools (e.g., consent forms, a demographic questionnaire, statistical table templates)--all in easily-adapted Word documents to meet individual research needs. A watershed edition! Student Resource Manual with Toolkit, ISBN: 978-0-7817-7052-1.
Nursing Research by
This is a comprehensive but easy-to-understand nursing research textbook that is designed to introduce students to research concepts and methods, as well as teach how to evaluate research and apply scientific evidence to practice. The 6th edition now includes an increased emphasis on evidence-based practice, and teaches the reader how to analyze research by demonstrating in detail the components of research, the types of research, and how to use research information. The thread of evidence-based practice has been enhanced from cover to cover, including the addition of "Evidence-Based Practice Tips" throughout. The sixth edition now features a full-color design and illustrations. Quantitative research and qualitative research are presented separately, in a balanced manner. A inviting Research Vignette opens each of the book's four Parts, introducing students to real-world practitioners of nursing research. Unique Helpful Hint boxes offer practical tips for avoiding common pitfalls in nursing research. Critiquing Guides offer essential questions to ask when critiquing aspects of a research article. Critical Thinking Decision Paths are flowchart-style diagrams with critical decision points that guide students through the process of decsion-making in conducting and interpreting research. Critical Thinking Challenges are thought-provoking questions at the end of each chapter. Critique of a Research Study features demonstrate how to apply critiquing skills to a research study. Additional popular pedagogical aids include Key Terms lists, Learning Outcomes, and Key Points summaries, along with many tables, boxes, and figures. Appendix includes four updated full-text research articles - referenced throughout the text. New focus on evidence-based practice. Three chapters focus on evidence-based practice, including the new Tools for Applying Evidence to Practice chapter (Chapter 20), which covers implementation of protocols for evidence-based practice, standards of care, care maps, and more. Evidence-Based Practice Tip boxes provide tips for applying research evidence to practice. An evidence-based practice icon highlights key evidence-based content. Critical Thinking Challenges include at least one question per chapter focused on evidence-based practice. Practice examples of evidence-based nursing are updated and expanded. Updated coverage of HIPAA regulations, replication, genetics, sample size, and power calculations keeps students on the cutting edge of changes in the field. New Example Glossary not only includes definitions of key terms and concepts but also references to in-text examples of the concepts, with page references.
Understanding Nursing Research by
This textbook explicitly links understanding of nursing research with evidence-based practice, and focuses on how to read, critique, and utilize research reports. Organized around questions students have when reading reports—how the conclusions were reached, what types of patients the conclusions apply to, how the study was done, and why it was done that way—the text explains the steps of the research process to answer these questions. Chapters include clinical vignettes, highlighted key concepts, and out-of-class exercises. Appendices present a variety of research examples. This edition includes significant new material on evidence-based practice and more distinction between qualitative and quantitative research.
Understanding Nursing Research by
Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice, 4th Edition is a market-leading textbook written by two of the most renowned experts in the nursing research field. Now in full-color, this thoroughly updated 4th edition reflects today's emphasis on evidence-based practice. Refined format and features enhance the book's readability and bring include examples and critiques that help students better understand the concepts. The book also features an enhanced emphasis on the emerging, cost-driven field of outcomes research, as well as an improved balance of quantitative and qualitative research. In addition to a full complement of student and faculty ancillaries, a companion Nursing Research Online course is now available for separate purchase with this edition. Written by two of the leaders in the field of nursing research, the book presents time-tested content with ideal breadth, depth, and readability for students. Research Examples throughout the text illustrate key concepts with excerpts from the best of the nursing and health sciences literature. Critiquing Guidelines provide a systematic tool for critiquing published research studies. Example Critiques demonstrate how to critique an article with excerpts from published studies. A full Sample Critique of an entire quantitative study helps students synthesize the critiquing skills they have developed through the preceding chapters. A comprehensive Glossary serves as a convenient quick reference. Includes a fresh emphasis on the role of nursing research in building an evidence-based practice, with in-depth Research Examples now concluding with Implications for Practice. A new Outcomes Research chapter addresses this emerging, cost-driven discipline. Redesigned Critiquing Guidelines offer expert advice on evaluating research articles. New Sample Critique of a qualitative study complements the quantitative critique. Tips for Further Study identifies concepts in each chapter students tend to have the most trouble with and points them to corresponding sections in the Study Guide and the Evolve resources for further study.
Integrating Evidence into Practice for Impact, an Issue of Nursing Clinics of North America by The following resources were referenced in creating this guide:
Booth, A. (2006). Clear and present questions: Formulating questions for evidence based practice. Library Hi Tech, 24(3), 355-368. https://10.1108/07378830610692127
Conner, B.T. (2014). Differentiating research, evidence-based-practice, and quality improvement. American Nurse Today, 9(6). Retrieved from http://www.americannursetoday.com/differentiating-research-evidence-based-practice-and-quality-improvement/
Cooke, A., Smith, D., & Booth, A. (2012). Beyond PICO: The SPIDER tool for qualitative evidence synthesis. Quality Health Research, 22(10), 1435-1443. https://10.1177/1049732312452938
Gallagher Ford, L., & Melnyk, B. M. (2019). The Underappreciated and misunderstood PICOT question: A critical step in the EBP process. Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, 16(6), 422–423. https://doi.org/10.1111/wvn.12408
Garrad, J. (2007). Health sciences literature review made easy: The matrix method (2nd ed.). Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett Publishers.
Koffel J. Understanding Research Study Design [Internet]. Twin Cities, MN: University of Minnesota. c2011 – [cited 2013, May 29]. Available from: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=999283
Lohr, K.N. (2004). Rating the strength of scientific evidence: Relevance for quality improvement programs. International Journal for Quality in Health Care, 16(1): 9-18.
Sackett, D.L., Rosenberg, W.M., Gray, J.A., Haynes, R.B., & Richardson, W.S. (1996). Evidence based medicine: what it is and what it isn't. BMJ, 312(7023); 71-72. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2349778/
Schardt, C. (2020). Evidence-Based Practice. Available from http://guides.mclibrary.duke.edu/content.php?pid=274373
Straus, S. E., Glasziou, P., Richardson, W. S., & Haynes, R. B. (2011). Evidence-based medicine: How to practice and teach it. Edinburgh : Elsevier Churchill Livingstone, 2011.
Weinfeld, J. M., & Finkelstein, K. (2005). How to answer your clinical questions more efficiently. Family Practice Management, 12(7), 37-41.