Start here to find hundreds of thousands of books, journals, audio-visual media, and more, housed at Foley and available to you electronically.
This is a great cross-disciplinary, or multi-subject, database that includes quite a lot of history content. It's very easy to use, especially if you try the Subject Headings. It's a good starting point for almost any subject.
Very similar to Academic Search Complete, but with an American history focus. Some of the material here is indexed but not archived (that means it tells you about the article but doesn't give you the actual text of it), so make sure you're aware of how to find the full text or order it for free via interlibrary loan. (Don't let those scary library terms intimidate you: it's quick and easy!)
This is the Big One. Full-text only, a massive collection, with a strong humanities focus. The downside? It's not as easy to search. Brush up on your keyword searching and search limiters (ways to narrow your search, such as by date), and your booleans (AND, OR, and NOT), and be prepared to try many different searches and approaches. Stick with it and you can find gold.
Like JSTOR, Project Muse has a massive collection of academic journal articles, and it includes searchable books and book chapters. Also like JSTOR, there are no subject headings, so use those keyword search skills!
Very similar to Academic Search Complete, this is a cross-disciplinary database with a ton of content.
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes over 1,700 journals as far back as 1910.
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. It contains more than 430,000 full text biographies of authors, artists, athletes, authors, world leaders, explorers, scientists and many others.
Includes reference sources from selected dictionaries, directories, and encyclopedias.
History Study Center (ProQuest)
An Online resource providing a vast collection primary and secondary sources for the study of history, including global history from ancient times to the present day. It is suitable for a wide range of users, from high school students looking for quick and reliable facts on a historical topic, to researchers examining hard-to-find primary source texts.
This database provides abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Humanities Abstracts covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Interdisciplinary database for core journals in the fields of the arts & humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, providing archival access to each journal beginning with volume 1.
Oxford Reference Online | History
Provides dictionary and encyclopedic information.
Provides full-text access to over 500 journals from university presses and scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and others.
Covers a broad range of subjects including the arts, business, education, general interests, humanities, international topics, law, military, multicultural issues, psychology, the sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
