LibGuides: Women's History Month 2024: Books

Featured Books at Foley Library

#NotYourPrincess by Lisa Charleyboy (Editor); Mary Beth Leatherdale (Editor)
ISBN: 9781554519583
Publication Date: 2017-09-12
Native Women demand to be heard in this stunning anthology. Whether looking back to a troubled past or welcoming a hopeful future, the powerful voices of Indigenous women across North America resound in this book.
African American Women in the Struggle for the Vote, 1850-1920 by Rosalyn Terborg-Penn
ISBN: 0253333784
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Rosalyn Terborg-Penn draws from original documents to take a comprehensive look at the African American women who fought for the right to vote. She analyzes the women's own stories, and examines why they joined and how they participated in the U.S. women's suffrage movement.
Angela Davis by Angela Davis
ISBN: 0717806677
Publication Date: 1988-12-01
Her own powerful story to 1972, told with warmth, brilliance, humor and conviction, with a 1988 Introduction by the author.
Before They Could Vote by Sidonie A. Smith (Editor); Julia Watson (Editor)
ISBN: 0299220508
Publication Date: 2006-06-20
The life narratives in this collection are by ethnically diverse women of energy and ambition--some well known, some forgotten over generations--who confronted barriers of gender, class, race, and sexual difference as they pursued or adapted to adventurous new lives in a rapidly changing America.
Beyond Feminism and Islamism by Doris H. Gray
ISBN: 9781780761817
Publication Date: 2012-11-30
Are women in North Africa and the Middle East 'feminist'? Or is being a Muslim incompatible with feminism? Is there such a thing as 'Islamic feminism'? Through interviews with Moroccan activists and jurists - both male and female - and by situating these interviews within their socio-political and economic contexts, Doris Gray addresses these questions.
Confessions of the Guerrilla Girls by Whitney Chadwick (Editor)
ISBN: 0060950889
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
A raucous, colorful showcase of the nationwide poster campaign waged against discrimination and inequalities in the art world--by a collective of female artists, graphic designers, and art-world professionals whose identities have never been revealed. More than 135 color illustrations; 4 tear-out postcard sheets.
Emergent Feminisms by Jessalynn Keller (Editor); Maureen E. Ryan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780815386612
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Through twelve chapters that historicize and re-evaluate postfeminism as a dominant framework of feminist media studies, this collection maps out new modes of feminist media analysis at both theoretical and empirical levels and offers new insights into the visibility and circulation of feminist politics in contemporary media cultures.
Eminent Buddhist Women by Karma Lekshe Tsomo (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438451312
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Eminent Buddhist Women reveals the exemplary legacy of Buddhist women through the centuries. Despite the Buddha's own egalitarian values, Buddhism as a religion has been dominated by men for more than two thousand years.
Feminist Revolution by Redstockings
ISBN: 0394408217
Publication Date: 1978-01-01
Redtockings is an organization actively engaged in raising consciousness on the issue of the liberation of women. This collection of journals aims to reestablish some old principles and break some new ground in the conversation surrounding women's rights.
Feminist Theory and Pop Culture by Adrienne Trier-Bieniek (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9463000593
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Feminist Theory and Pop Culture synthesizes feminist theory with modern portrayals of gender in media culture. This comprehensive and interdisciplinary text includes an introductory chapter written by the editor as well as nine contributor chapters of original content.
Figuring by Maria Popova
ISBN: 9781524748135
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Figuring explores the complexities of love and the human search for truth and meaning through the interconnected lives of several historical figures across four centuries.
French Canadians, Furs, and Indigenous Women in the Making of the Pacific Northwest by Jean Barman
ISBN: 9780774828055
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Jean Barman rewrites the history of the Pacific Northwest from the perspective of the French Canadians involved in the fur economy, the Indigenous women whose presence in their lives encouraged them to stay, and their descendants.
From Indian Corn to Outer Space by Ellen H. Showell; Fred Amram
ISBN: 0942389107
Publication Date: 1995-08-01
An examination of women from American history and present times who have invented, and a motivation for students to enhance creativity and achieve their dreams.
Gutsy Girls by Tina Schwager; Michele Schuerger
ISBN: 1575420597
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
In exciting, inspiring first-person stories, 25 intrepid young women ages 14-24 tell of their daring feats, from extreme sports to history-making achievements. Includes resources, activities, and advice on how readers can build their confidence, set goals, and strive for their personal best.
Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot
ISBN: 1619023342
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
A powerful, poetic memoir of an Indigenous woman's coming of age on the Seabird Island Band in the Pacific Northwest--this New York Times bestseller and Emma Watson Book Club pick is "an illuminating account of grief, abuse and the complex nature of the Native experience . . .at once raw and achingly beautiful (NPR).
A History of Women Photographers by Naomi Rosenblum (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780789209986
Publication Date: 2010-05-25
Women have had a special relationship with the camera since the advent of photographic technology in the mid-nineteenth century. Photographers celebrated women as their subjects, from intimate family portraits and fashion spreads to artistic photography and nude studies, including Man Ray's Violon d'Ingres. Lesser known, and lesser studied, is the history of women photographers, who continue to make invaluable contributions to this flourishing art form.
Imogen Cunningham by Richard Lorenz
ISBN: 0811803570
Publication Date: 1993-08-01
From bold, evocative nudes to starkly beautiful still lifes, Imogen Cunningham's pioneering work has garnered worldwide acclaim. One of the first women to make her living as a photographer, Cunningham consistently experimented with a wide range of techniques during her remarkable career.
Influential Women of Spokane by Nany Engle
ISBN: 9781467119863
Publication Date: 2017-09-25
While known as the home of Father's Day, Spokane benefited from its share of trailblazing women. Historian Nancy Driscol Engle commemorates the unforgettable contributions of Spokane's women.
An Introduction to Feminism by Lorna Finlayson
ISBN: 1107121043
Publication Date: 2016-02-25
As well as providing a clear and critical introduction to the theory, this refreshing overview focuses on the practice of feminism with coverage of actions and activism, bringing the subject to life for newcomers as well as offering fresh perspectives for advanced students.
Leading the Way: Women in Power by Janet Howell; Theresa Howell; Hillary Rodham Clinton (Foreword by); Kylie Akia (Illustrator); Alexandra Bye (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781536208467
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
In this engaging and highly accessible compendium for young readers and aspiring power brokers, Virginia Senator Janet Howell and her daughter-in-law Theresa Howell spotlight the careers of fifty American women in politics -- and inspire readers to make a difference.
Many Tender Ties by Sylvia Van Kirk
ISBN: 0806118423
Publication Date: 1983-05-01
In this book, the fur trade is examined not simply as an economic activity but as a social and cultural complex that was to survive for nearly two centuries. The author traces the development of a mutual dependency between Indian and European traders at the economic level that evolved into a significant cultural exchange as well. Marriages of fur traders to Indian women created bonds that helped advance trade relations. As a result of these "many tender ties," there emerged a unique society derived from both Indian and European culture.
The Moment of Lift by Melinda Gates
ISBN: 9781250313577
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "In her book, Melinda tells the stories of the inspiring people she's met through her work all over the world, digs into the data, and powerfully illustrates issues that need our attention--from child marriage to gender inequity in the workplace."
Northwest Women by Karen J. Blair (Editor)
ISBN: 0874221455
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Northwest Women features concise descriptions of more than 700 books and articles that examine the contributions of Washington and Oregon women -- bringing to light generations of scholarship about celebrated and anonymous women, from Native American basket makers to Japanese-Americans interned during World War II. Northwest Women was named one of the Best Bibliographies in History by the American Library Association.
Shattering the Stereotypes by Fawzia Afzal-Khan (Editor); Nawal El Saadawi (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1566565693
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
In the wake of September 11th. Muslim women in the West found themselves more marginalized than ever by a panicked discourse that did little to promote a true understanding of Islam or the Islamic world. Here. in this ambitious volume that includes essays. poetry, fiction, memoir, plays, and artwork, Muslim women speak for themselves, revealing a complexity of experience and thought that escapes most Western portrayals.
A Song to the Creator by Lillian A. Ackerman (Editor)
ISBN: 0806128763
Publication Date: 1996-10-15
This book explores each of the Plateau arts by means of Native American legends and poems, articles by various scholars, and interviews with Native American women artists.
The Trouble with White Women by Kyla Schuller; Brittney Cooper (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781645036890
Publication Date: 2021-10-05
An incisive history of self-serving white feminists and the inspiring women who've continually defied them Women including Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Margaret Sanger, and Sheryl Sandberg are commonly celebrated as leaders of feminism. Yet they have fought for the few, not the many. As award-winning scholar Kyla Schuller argues, their white feminist politics dispossess the most marginalized to liberate themselves.
Women's Activism in Africa by Balghis Badri (Editor); Aili Mari Tripp (Editor)
ISBN: 1783609095
Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Throughout Africa, growing numbers of women are coming together and making their voices heard, mobilising around causes ranging from democracy and land rights to campaigns against domestic violence.
The Women's Suffrage Movement by Sally Roesch Wagner (Editor, Introduction by); Gloria Steinem (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0143132431
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
An intersectional anthology of works by the known and unknown women that shaped and established the suffrage movement, in time for the 2020 centennial of women's right to vote, with a foreword by Gloria Steinem Comprised of historical texts spanning two centuries, The Women's Suffrage Movement is a comprehensive and singular volume with a distinctive focus on incorporating race, class, and gender, and illuminating minority voices.
Women and Art by Elsa H. Fine
Call Number: N43 .F56 1978
ISBN: 0839001878
Publication Date: 1978-04-01
In this survey of the achievement of women artists, the author evaluates and presents examples of the painting and sculpture of nearly 100 artists and provides information on many others, delineating the social and cultural context in which their work has been produced.
Women of the First Nations by Christine Miller (Editor); Patricia Chuchryk (Editor)
ISBN: 0887556345
Publication Date: 1996-08-31
From diversity comes strength and wisdom: this was the guiding principle for selecting the articles in this collection. Because there is no single voice, identity, history, or cultural experience that represents the women of the First Nations, a realistic picture will have many facets.
Women Photographers by Boris Friedewald
ISBN: 3791348140
Publication Date: 2014-05-08
Since the inception of photography as an art form nearly 200 years ago, women have played an important role in the development of the genre, often pushing boundaries and defying social convention. This comprehensive volume features sixty of the most important women photographers.

eBooks

Alice Paul, the National Woman's Party and the Vote by Bernadette Cahill
ISBN: 1476619786
Publication Date: 2015-04-02
When women picketed the White House demanding the vote on January 10, 1917, they broke new ground in political activism. Demanding that President Wilson influence Congress, they marched in the streets in the nation's first ever coast-to-coast campaign for political rights.
And the Spirit Moved Them by Helen LaKelly Hunt
ISBN: 1558614281
Publication Date: 2017-04-17
The New York Times-bestselling author of Getting the Love You Want sends out a 'call for renewed feminist action, based on "the spirit and ethic of love'" (Kirkus Reviews). A decade before the Seneca Falls Convention, black and white women joined together at the 1837 Anti-Slavery Convention of American Women in the first instance of political organizing by American women for American women.
Audre Lorde's Transnational Legacies by Stella Bolaki (Editor); Sabine Broeck (Editor)
ISBN: 1625341385
Publication Date: 2015-08-21
Among the most influential and insightful thinkers of her generation, Audre Lorde (1934--1992) inspired readers and activists through her poetry, autobiography, essays, and her political action. Most scholars have situated her work within the context of the women's, gay and lesbian, and black civil rights movements within the United States.
Civil Rights Pioneer by Gwenyth Swain; Ellen Beier (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0761382577
Publication Date: 2011-01-08
Mary Church Terrell grew up after the Civil War with many opportunities. Although she received an excellent education and had a distinguished teaching career, Mary grew up African American in a segregated country. There were opportunities she did not have. Always determined, she joined the fight for equal rights. By lecturing, picketing, and writing she made her voice be heard and helped to end segregation.
Courage by Karen Finneyfrock; Mindy Nettifee
ISBN: 1938912217
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
A collection of fierce, empowering poems by living, self-identified women writers intended for girls age 12-21. Full of advice, critique, reflection, commiseration, humor, sorrow and rage, this anthology includes poems by some of the most exciting female poets writing and performing today.
Do Muslim Women Need Saving? by Lila Abu-Lughod
ISBN: 0674088263
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
Frequent reports of honor killings, disfigurement, and sensational abuse have given rise to a consensus in the West, a message propagated by human rights groups and the media: Muslim women need to be rescued. Lila Abu-Lughod boldly challenges this conclusion.
Feminism by June Hannam
ISBN: 9781315833170
Publication Date: 2014-06-11
The sheer number of publications on Feminism make it difficult for students who approach the subject for the first time to gain a sense of what the main issues and interpretations are. This book addresses this by offering students an overview of feminism and its history across several countries and time periods, along with an annotated guide to direct them in their further reading.
Feminist Writings by Simone de Beauvoir; Margaret A. Simons (Editor); Marybeth Timmermann (Editor); Sylvie Le Bon de Beauvoir (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0252097173
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
The philosopher's writings on, and engagement with, twentieth century feminism By turns surprising and revelatory, this sixth volume in the Beauvoir Series presents newly discovered writings and lectures while providing new translations and contexts for Simone de Beauvoir's more familiar writings.
Malala Yousafzai by Kelly Spence
ISBN: 1427118124
Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Courageous Malala Yousafzai survived an assassination attempt for advocating for the education of girls in her home country of Pakistan. This book describes her incredible story, including her advocacy work on behalf of women and girls on an international scale following her attack, and how she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prizeall while she was still in her teens.
The Narrative of Sojourner Truth by Sojourner Truth; Olive Gilbert (Editor)
ISBN: 1504048210
Publication Date: 2017-09-12
From slavery to liberation to life as an abolitionist, feminist, orator, and preacher--the autobiography of a woman who refused to be anything but free.
Ruth Bader Ginsburg by Nancy Hendricks
ISBN: 1440874220
Publication Date: 2020-11-04
This book offers both a biography of Ruth Bader Ginsburg, only the second-ever woman appointed to the Supreme Court, and a historical analysis of her impact.Ruth Bader Ginsburg: A Life in American History explores Ginsburg's path to holding the highest position in the judicial branch of U.S. government as a Supreme Court justice for almost three decades.
Simone de Beauvoir by Ursula Tidd
ISBN: 1861897537
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Following its publication in 1949, The Second Sex quickly became one of the fundamental works of feminist thought. In it, Simone de Beauvoir (1908-86) offered up a statement that has informed nearly all feminist and gender scholarship that has followed, "One is not born, but rather becomes, a woman."
Suffrage Days by Sandra Stanley Holton
ISBN: 1134837860
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
This is a history of the suffrage movement in Britain from the beginnings of the first sustained campaign in the 1860s to the winning of the vote for women in 1918. The book focuses on a number of figures whose role in this agitation has been ignored or neglected.
Women's Rights and Nothing Less by Lisa Frederiksen Bohannon
ISBN: 1883846668
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Elizabeth Cady Stanton was a leader of the American women's rights movement from the famous Seneca Falls Convention of 1848 until her death in 1902.
Women's Suffrage by Duchess Harris JD
ISBN: 1532151853
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Women in many parts of the United States were not allowed to vote until 1920. Women's Suffrage discusses the history of women's voting rights, how women campaigned for full voting rights across the country, and how their efforts led to gains in equality for women in other areas as well.
Women's Suffrage Memorabilia by Kenneth Florey
ISBN: 9781476601502
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
While historians have long recognized the importance of memorabilia to the Woman Suffrage movement, the subject has not been explored apart from a few restricted, albeit excellent, studies.
Women in Pacific Northwest History by Karen J. Blair (Editor)
ISBN: 0295805803
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
This new edition of Karen Blair's popular anthology originally published in 1989 includes thirteen essays, eight of which are new. Together they suggest the wide spectrum of women's experiences that make up a vital part of Northwest history.

Books available via ILL and Summit Libraries

Dear Sisters by Rosalyn Fraad Baxandall; Linda Gordon
ISBN: 0465017061
Publication Date: 2000-10-04
Today's women are so comfortable in their authority that they often forget to credit the women's liberation movement of the 1960s and '70s for paving the way--from the kitchen to the boardroom, from sexual harassment to self-defense, from cheerleading on the sidelines to playing center on the team.
Diva by Kirsty Fairclough (Editor); Benjamin Halligan (Editor); Shara Rambarran (Editor); Nicole Hodges Persley (Editor)
ISBN: 1501368257
Publication Date: 2023-10-05
The diva - a central figure in the landscape of contemporary popular culture: gossip-generating, scandal-courting, paparazzi-stalked. And yet the diva is at the epicentre of creative endeavours that resonate with contemporary feminist ideas, kick back against diminished social expectations, boldly call-out casual sexism and industry misogyny and, in terms of hip-hop, explores intersectional oppressions and unapologetically celebrates non-white cultural heritages.
Feminism for the Americas by Katherine M. Marino
ISBN: 1469649691
Publication Date: 2019-03-04
This book chronicles the dawn of the global movement for women's rights in the first decades of the twentieth century. The founding mothers of this movement were not based primarily in the United States, however, or in Europe. Instead, Katherine M. Marino introduces readers to a cast of remarkable Latin American and Caribbean women whose deep friendships and intense rivalries forged global feminism out of an era of imperialism, racism, and fascism.
The Feminist Revolution by Bonnie J. Morris; D-M Withers; Roxane Gay (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1588346129
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
Explores the global history and contributions of the feminist revolution. The Feminist Revolution offers an overview of women's struggle for equal rights in the late twentieth century.
From Megaphones to Microphones by Sandra J. Sarkela; Susan Ross; Margaret Lowe
ISBN: 0275977722
Publication Date: 2003-08-30
Until recently, scholars assumed that women stopped speaking after they won the vote in 1920 and did not reenter political life until the second wave of feminism began in the 1960s. Nothing could be further from the truth. While national attention did dissipate after 1920, women did not retreat from political and civic life. Rather, after winning the vote, women's public activism shifted from a single-issue agenda to the myriad social problems and public issues that faced the nation.
Lucretia Mott's Heresy by Carol Faulkner
ISBN: 0812243218
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Lucretia Coffin Mott was one of the most famous and controversial women in nineteenth-century America. Now overshadowed by abolitionists like William Lloyd Garrison and feminists such as Elizabeth Cady Stanton,
Mighty Be Our Powers by Leymah Gbowee; Carol L. Mithers (As told to)
ISBN: 0984295151
Publication Date: 2011-09-13
WINNER OF THE 2011 NOBEL PEACE PRIZE In a time of death and terror, Leymah Gbowee brought Liberia's women together--and together they led a nation to peace. As a young woman, Leymah Gbowee was broken by the Liberian civil war, a brutal conflict that tore apart her life and claimed the lives of countless relatives and friends. Years of fighting destroyed her country--and shattered Gbowee's girlhood hopes and dreams.
On Infertile Ground by Jade S. Sasser
ISBN: 1479873438
Publication Date: 2018-11-13
A critique of population control narratives reproduced by international development actors in the 21st century Since the turn of the millennium, American media, scientists, and environmental activists have insisted that the global population crisis is "back"--and that the only way to avoid catastrophic climate change is to ensure women's universal access to contraception.
She Persisted Around the World by Chelsea Clinton; Alexandra Boiger (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0525516999
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
Women around the world have long dreamed big, even when they've been told their dreams didn't matter. They've spoken out, risen up and fought for what's right, even when they've been told to be quiet. Whether in science, the arts, sports or activism, women and girls throughout history have been determined to break barriers and change the status quo.
Sisterhood Is Forever by Robin Morgan (Editor)
ISBN: 0743466276
Publication Date: 2003-03-05
Thirty years after Robin Morgan's groundbreaking anthology, Sisterhood Is Powerful -- named by The American Librarians' Association one of "The 100 Most Influential Books of the Twentieth Century" -- comes this landmark new collection for the twenty-first century. Sisterhood Is Forever -- with over 60 original essays Morgan commissioned from well-known feminist leaders plus energetic Gen X and Y activists -- is a composite mural of the female experience in America: where we've been, where we are, where we're going.
The Women's Movement Against Sexual Harassment by Carrie N. Baker
ISBN: 0521879353
Publication Date: 2007-12-03
This book recounts the story of how a diverse social movement placed sexual harassment on the public agenda in the 1970s and 1980s. The collaboration of women from varying racial, economic, and geographic backgrounds strengthened the movement by representing the experiences and perspectives of a broad range of women, and incorporating their resources and strategies for social change.
Women's Movements in Asia by Mina Roces (Editor); Louise Edwards (Editor)
ISBN: 0415487021
Publication Date: 2010-07-08
Women's Movements in Asia is a comprehensive study of women's activism across Asia. With chapters written by leading international experts, it provides a full overview of the history of feminism, as well as the current context of the women's movement in 12 countries: the Philippines, China, Indonesia, Japan, Burma, Singapore, Vietnam, Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Korea, India and Pakistan.
Women, Race and Class by Angela Y. Davis
ISBN: 0394713516
Publication Date: 1983-02-12
From one of our most important scholars and civil rights activist icon, a powerful study of the women's liberation movement and the tangled knot of oppression facing Black women.
Women, Science, and Technology by Mary Wyer (Editor); Mary Barbercheck (Editor); Donna Giesman Cookmeyer (Editor); Hatice Ozturk (Editor); Marta Wayne (Editor); Donna Giesman Cookmeyer (Editor)
ISBN: 0203895657
Publication Date: 2010-07-29
Women, Science, and Technology is an ideal reader for courses in feminist science studies, science studies more generally, women's studies, and studies in gender and education.
Women of Color and the Reproductive Rights Movement by Jennifer Nelson
ISBN: 0814758215
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Uncovers the truth behind the ideas, struggles, and eventually success of Black and Puerto Rican Nationalists regarding key feminist issues of the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s While most people believe that the movement to secure voluntary reproductive control for women centered solely on abortion rights, for many women abortion was not the only, or even primary, focus.

Women's History Month 2024: Books

Women's Fight for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Featured Books at Foley Library

eBooks

Books available via ILL and Summit Libraries