If I've done my job right, you should have a strong sense at this point of the importance of citations to scholarly work, including your own scholarly work. Using citations, we can track facts, claims, and discoveries back to their sources, and map the influence of articles and their authors on future scholarship. On the other hand, without accurate citations we are left to make our own guesses, and the door to academic fraud is opened. Failing to cite sources correctly will not only affect your grade, but could also open you up to accusations of plagiarism. The resources on this page should keep you on the straight and narrow, and set you up for citation success!
If you're struggling with anything related to this tutorial, please don't hesitate to contact me at email@example.com. I want to help you out in any way that I can. You can also book a Zoom or phone appointment with me here. If you need help immediately and I'm not available, you can always use the library's 24/7 chat service to get help from a librarian.
RefWorks is a citation manager. It can help you organize your research by storing citations for the articles you find. You can then use those citations to automatically generate a bibliography, formatted to whatever citation style you choose (literally any style you can come up with, RefWorks can do). You can even sync your RefWorks account with Microsoft Word to drop in-text citations into your document. RefWorks looks complicated, but it's actually easy to use and very helpful.
1. Go to refworks.proquest.com (or click the RefWorks link on the Foley homepage and choose the new, blue version of RefWorks if you are asked).
2. Click Create Account. (Note: even if you already have an account with the old version of RefWorks, you will still need to create a new account in the new version. Once you have done so you can import all your citations from the old version to the new. Click here for instructions.)
3. Enter your Gonzaga email address. RefWorks will see that you are part of the Gonzaga community and grant you access.
4. Choose a password to use along with your email for logging in, and click Sign Up.
5. Congratulations, you have a new RefWorks account!
Now that you have a RefWorks account, you need to add some citations to it!
1. Make sure you are logged in to your RefWorks account.
2. Find an article in one of Foley's databases. I'm using Academic Search Complete, an EBSCO database. (Other databases will look a little different but operate much the same way.)
3. When you have found an article in the database that you would like to keep track of in RefWorks, click on the Export link on the right side of the Detailed Record. (In other databases it might be called Save or something else). That link takes you to the Export Manager where RefWorks is the default for Foley Center Library databases.
4. Click Save to send the citation to RefWorks, where it appears in Last Imported and in All Documents.
Now RefWorks has all the information you need to cite that article!
(Note: the majority of our databases can directly export citation information to your RefWorks account. For some of the trickier databases to use with RefWorks, see the separate sections for them below.)
Not working? Try these steps:
1. Make sure your browser isn't blocking popups from the database. Check the upper right corner of the browser screen for an icon or text indicating that popups are being blocked. Below is how it looks in Chrome (as of this writing, anyway); it might look a little different in your browser. Tell the browser to allow popups for the database.
2. Use the "Save to RefWorks" bookmarklet. Instead of the database sending the info to RefWorks, using this bookmarklet means that RefWorks reaches into the database and tries to grab the info instead. It works really well! Instructions for using it are in the first tab in the "Advanced Refworks Tecniques" section below.
3. If all else fails, look for an option in the database to export in RIS format. This will download a tiny little file to your computer. Upload that file to RefWorks (see the screenshot below) and your citation will magically appear!
If you want to cite something you did not find in a database (like a book, or a PDF found elsewhere), you can manually enter the citation information into RefWorks.
1. Click the + botton and choose Create New Reference.
A panel will appear on the right side of the screen.
2. Select the source type (book, journal article, etc) from the drop down menu.
3. Enter the title into the Title field.
4a. As a shortcut, once you have entered the title, click the lightning-looking button on the right (see the screenshot below). This will look through Summon, Proquest's metadata database (try saying that three times fast) to try to find a match. If it finds one, just click it in the list that appears at bottom, and it will fill in all the rest of the citation information.
4b. Or just finish filling the fields out manually.
5. Click Save at the top to save the citation.
Once you have several citations in your RefWorks account, it can be useful to organize them into folders.
1. RefWorks folders are listed in the left sidebar. Click + Add a Folder to add and name a new folder.
2. To add citations to your new folder, just go to All Documents, Last Imported, or Not in Folder, click on the citation you want to add, and drag it to the folder.
Once you have organized your citations into a folder, you can use that folder to generate a formatted bibliography.
1. Click on the RefWorks folder you want to use to generate your bibliography
2. If you want to use every reference in this folder for your bibliography, go on to the next step. If you want to use specific references, click the checkbox next to each reference you want to use.
3. Click on and choose Create Bibliography.
4. Choose your citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc) from the dropdown menu at the top, and watch as your bibliography is automatically changed to match. When you are happy, click Copy to Clipboard.
Then just go to Microsoft Word (or wherever you are writing your paper) and paste the bibliography in! This is what a bibliography looks like when it has been generated as a Word document in APA. That sure saved a lot of work! For more cool things you can do with RefWorks and Word, check out the Write-N-Cite page in this guide.
(Sharp eyes might notice a mistake or two in this bibliography. See Always Proofread RefWorks for the reason for this.)
RefWorks can save you a ton of time because it's much faster than a human at creating bibliographies. Unfortunately, though, it's not nearly as smart as a human. So it's up to you to check its work!
RefWorks does not recognize proper nouns. This is such a common error that you will probably find at least one when you proofread your own bibliography. Luckily, it’s an easy fix.
This is the abstract from the database. If you are required to annotate your bibliography, you will need to replace this with your own annotation.
Author's names are in ALL CAPS. Some databases put authors or titles in all caps. You can fix this as you proofread your bibliography. To permanently correct it, edit the record in RefWorks.
This is an APA-style citation, and “retrieved from” and the accompanying URL aren’t required in APA citations. As stated on the Purdue OWL website: “...data-base information in citations is not necessary because databases change over time.” It's important to know the rules for your particular citation style.
Do NOT include the table of contents! This is a book citation exported from WorldCat. Something in the WorldCat export file often causes extra information to show up in your RefWorks bibliography. This is very useful information in WorldCat, but it does not belong in an APA bibliography! If something like this shows up in your bibliography, delete it!
These video tutorials will walk you through the main features and capabilities of RefWorks.