LibGuides: Critical Race and Ethnic Studies: Find Articles

Which Database Should I Use?

Critical Race and Ethnic Studies is an interdisciplinary field, so you will need to consider the specific topic you are researching in order to choose the best database to use. Databases are grouped in general categories below, but be sure to read the individual database descriptions carefully.

Featured Databases

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants from 1992 onwards.
Fuente Academica (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text Spanish language academic journals from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to articles in international scholarly journals published on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. Coverage includes articles on political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals exploring culture across the global community.

Databases for Critical Race and Ethnic Studies Research

America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It indexes over 1,700 journals as far back as 1910.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly academic publications covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes more than 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages from 1955-present.

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, full-text database covering sociology and related disciplines, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, dating as far back as 1840. Materials cover a wide range of psychological topics, including the psychological aspects of related fields, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants from 1992 onwards.

Communication Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals in all fields related to the communication arts, including journalism, mass media, advertising, public relations and integrative media, as well as interpersonal and organizational communication.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index covers all applicable areas of film and television research including film and television theory, screenwriting, production and cinematography. It also includes more than 37,400 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association, is a comprehensive database for the study of language, literature, folklore, composition and rhetoric, linguistics, and film. It contains abstracts and some full text for scholarly works, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and more, from the early 20th century to the present.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature (formerly Artemis Literary Sources) is a discovery tool for searching a wide range of literature resources. It includes biographical information, literary overviews, literary criticism and reviews on more than 150,000 writers from all time periods and from around the world.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full text This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles for over 200 full text journals and 400 full text books and monographs covering the subject areas of ballet, cinema, dance, drama, film, mime, puppetry and theatre.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants from 1992 onwards.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains journal articles in the field of education from K-12 to higher education. Also, includes links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents from local and state education departments from 1966-present.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
Education Week Online features daily news, commentary and analysis on policy, legislative and overall shifts and trends in the U.S. K-12 space. It also includes content for the classroom teacher including videos, case studies and best practices, educational statistics, and special reports are also available.

Public Affairs Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Resources for national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. Sources include scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to research on international affairs, CIAO includes many different document types, including books, journals, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences and policy briefs, as well as case studies. Includes publications from 1991-present.
Topic Search (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
TOPICsearch contains full-text articles on current and contemporary issues from international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, and government information.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
A legal research database that contains law-related journals, government documents, classic legal treatises, and more.
Legislative Insight (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Federal legislative history service with full-text documents relevant to laws passed from 1920 to present.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Includes summaries of U.S. criminal justice publications, including Federal, State and local government reports, books, journal articles, and other research with links to some full text reports.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An archive of legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand between 1908 and 1981. Topics include criminal law, federal law, international law, medical law and more.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database for core journals in the fields of the arts & humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, providing archival access to each journal beginning with volume 1.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 journals from university presses and scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and others.
ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subjects including the arts, business, education, general interests, humanities, international topics, law, military, multicultural issues, psychology, the sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Fuente Academica (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text Spanish language academic journals from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to articles in international scholarly journals published on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. Coverage includes articles on political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.