Skip to main content

UASC's Believe It or Not: Oddities, Rarities & Treasures from the Foley Vault: Case 1

Case 1

undefined

Exorcism Manual: Menghi, Girolamo. "Flagellum Dæmonum, Exorcismos Terribiles, Potentiffimos & Efficaces..." Venice: Apud Paulum Balleonium, 1697.

Exorcism Manual: Menghi, Girolamo. "Flagellum Dæmonum, Exorcismos Terribiles, Potentiffimos & Efficaces..." Venice: Apud Paulum Balleonium, 1697.

This volume, written in Latin, contains a wealth of information for exorcists, including how to prepare spiritually for an exorcism, examples of the trickery demons were known to employ against exorcists, and, of course, scripts for the exorcisms themselves, excerpted and translated here. Exorcists were advised to read the Latin bravely, loudly, and with great faith and hope.

“Christi nomine inuocato. Ego peccator Auctoritate ipsius Domini nostri Iesu Christi, … dicens suis Apostolis: Ecce dedi vobis potestatem super omnes malignos spiritus, & virtutes eorum. Et in alio loco ait: … In nomine meo dæmonia eiicient, & super ægros manus imponent, & benè habebunt. … in nomine Domini nostri Iesu Christi Nazareni crucifixi recedatis ab hac creatura Dei N. & ipsam sanā, ut inuenistis, relinquatis, numquam ad eam ampliùs redeuntes…” (82-83)

“I invoke the name of Christ. I am the sinner’s authority of our Lord Jesus Christ, … who said to his apostles: Behold, I have given you power over all the wicked spirits and their powers. And he also said: … In my name they will cast out demons, and shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover. … In the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, the crucified, depart from this creature of our God, healing him, never to return again…”

Rare Book Collection

Original Publisher's Papers: "Addresses of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II Delivered at Westminster Hall and Guild Hall on the Occasion of Her Silver Jubilee, 1952 - 1977." Worcester, MA: Achille J St Onge, 1977.

Practice Bomb: WWII Era M38A2 100 Pound Practice Bomb. 48 inches with Box Typed Fins with Original Blue Paint and White Stenciling, March 1945.    ×     This practice bomb was given to Larry Crosby, Bing Crosby’s brother, from members of the Kirtland Air Force Base in Albuquerque, NM.  Inscribed: “To our Good Friend Larry Crosby with Sincere Appreciation and 4000 thanks – The Gang at Kirtland." Bing Crosby Collection Detail of the engraving on the side of the practice bomb Bottom of the practice bomb    Add / Reorder   Feb 8, 2017 Original Publisher's Papers: "Addresses of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II Delivered at Westminster Hall and Guild Hall on the Occasion of Her Silver Jubilee, 1952 - 1977." Worcester, MA: Achille J St Onge, 1977.    ×

Here are the original publisher’s papers and two copies of the work, one bound in vellum and a sheet of gold leafing used to stamp the front and back covers of the book.

From the colophon:  “One of five special copies printed from Perpetual type on Crown & Sceptre handmade paper by Dame Hildelith Cumming, OSB at the Stanbrook Abbey Press, Worcester, England, photography by Peter Grugeon, lithographed at Skelton’s Press, illumination by Margaret Adams, bound in vellum by S. M. Cockerell, with lion and unicorn drawn by Joan Tebbutt, the unicorn with a quill, the lion holding sheets hot from the press”.

On loan from the David Bruna Family

Sheet of gold leafing used to stamp the cover of the book.

Sheet of gold leafing used to stamp the cover of the book.

Sheet Music Cover Art Mistake: Wenrich, Percy, Composer and Edward Madden, Lyricist. "My Hula Hula Love." Illus. Starmer. New York: Jerome H. Remick & Co., 1911.

Sheet Music Cover Art Mistake: Wenrich, Percy, Composer and Edward Madden, Lyricist. "My Hula Hula Love." Illus. Starmer. New York: Jerome H. Remick & Co., 1911.    ×

The cover artwork for this piece appears to have a woman looking Middle Eastern instead of Hawaiian.  The artist Mr. Starmer, who illustrated pieces of cover art for sheet music, appears not to know how to illustrate Hawaiian themes except for the palm trees.

The Howard W. Wildin Sheet Music Collection contains nearly 20,000 pieces of original American popular sheet music dating back to the mid-19th century including several hundred published musical and film song folios, musical artist folios, musical genre folios, and dance folios. Mr. Wildin collected the materials over many years and continues to acquire more.  Eventually, the entire collection will be scanned and, as restricted by copyright laws, those 75 years old and older will be available online. Funding for this project was provided by Howard W. Wildin.  See: http://digital.gonzaga.edu to view the collection.

From the Howard W. Wildin Collection of American Popular Sheet Music

Gonzaga Football: 1939.

Gonzaga Football: 1939.

The football has been mislabeled as “Texas,” but newspaper clippings show that it was actually Texas Tech. Gonzaga won 6 – 0 on October 7, 1939. 

Gonzaga started playing football in the 1892.  It was banned for a few years in 1901 as it was deemed too dangerous.  In the 1920s football became a major sport at Gonzaga with the arrival of Coach Gus Dorais. He started what would be the finest Gonzaga football program. Under his leadership, GU started a passing game which gave him a 20-13-3 record in 5 seasons. Gonzaga gained national attention in 1922 when it met the University of West Virginia on Christmas Day in San Diego, even though they lost 21-13.

With civic involvement, a football stadium was built on campus in 1922. Dominating a large portion of campus property, the stadium cost $100,000 and was considered the finest in the west. The grandstands could hold 12,000. It included football field, a quarter-mile regulation track with eight lanes, baseball diamond, press boxes, clubhouses, and restrooms. Lights were added in 1931.  The stadium was also used by the city of Spokane.

At the beginning of World War II, Gonzaga discontinued football as there were not enough male students.  After the war ended, the school decided to not have football as the cost was very high.  Almost every year the football program’s budget was in the red and it took up a large portion of campus property.  The stadium was torn down in 1949 to make room for new buildings such as the Crosby Library and Welch Hall.

Gonzaga University Archives

Practice Bomb: WWII Era M38A2 100 Pound Practice Bomb. 48 inches with Box Typed Fins with Original Blue Paint and White Stenciling, March 1945.

Practice Bomb: WWII Era M38A2 100 Pound Practice Bomb. 48 inches with Box Typed Fins with Original Blue Paint and White Stenciling, March 1945.

This practice bomb was given to Larry Crosby, Bing Crosby’s brother, from members of the Kirtland Air Force Base in Albuquerque, NM.  Inscribed: “To our Good Friend Larry Crosby with Sincere Appreciation and 4000 thanks – The Gang at Kirtland."

Bing Crosby Collection

Detail of the engraving on the side of the practice bomb

Detail of the engraving on the side of the practice bomb

Bottom of the practice bomb

Bottom of the practice bomb