LibGuides: New Venture Lab: Industry Research

Developing an overview of the industry in which a business operates can inform decision-making around opportunities for innovation and growth, identify peers/competitors to learn from, and give entrepreneurs an indication of the viability of their business in the market.

Use the databases below to search by

North American Industry Classification (NAIC) codes
Business name
Executive/leadership name
Keyword

You'll find

Industry reports
Company reports
SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) analyses
Other resources from
- First Research Industry Profiles,
- Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports,
- GlobalData Deals and Alliances Profiles, and
- MarketLine

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
On the advanced search page, scroll down to the "Document Type" box and check the box for "Industry Reports," then enter your search term(s).
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Go to the "Browse" box on the right side of the page and click the link for "Industry Profiles" for a list of all the reports in the database. Search by keyword or browse alphabetically by name, industry, country, or region.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Click through the "Industries" tab to drill down in a particular sector, like "Drinks," "Health & Beauty," or "Luxury and Fashion," and access analysis, statistics, insights, data visualizations, and market forecasts.
Gartner Research This link opens in a new window
Gartner Research offers access to business and technology trends and service solutions, with special reports and analytics on topics related to a wide range of markets and industries. *Login with Gonzaga username and password required.
IBIS World This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld's online database of thousands of industry research reports provides students, educators, career advisors and librarians with the same trusted industry intelligence and tools used by hundreds of schools around the world.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full text coverage for more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas in the United States.
On Campus Guest Access
RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
RMA eStatement Studies, a financial statement comparative analysis tool, uses balance sheet and income statement performance measures for over 780 industries.

Online Industry Information

American Society of Association Executives Directory of Associations
Links to professional associations and their publications/resources.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Industries at a Glance
Look up NAICS, industry-wide stats (employment, unionization, earnings), etc.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook
Job requirements by occupation, median earnings, growth rate, etc.
Census Bureau Economic Census
Measure of businesses in the United States performed every five (5) years providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels. It serves as the benchmark for current economic activity, such as the Gross Domestic Product and Producer Price Index.
Census Bureau Nonemployer Statistics
An annual series that provides subnational economic data for U.S businesses with no paid employees by industry. This series includes the number of establishments and total receipts.