LibGuides: New Venture Lab: Company Research

The practices and performance of peer/competitor companies can give entrepreneurs valuable insights into opportunities and challenges in their sector, standards and best practices, and effective leadership.

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Use Company or Person Lookup for a comprehensive list of all articles, reports, and other documents with information on that company or person.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Go to the "Browse" box on the right side of the page and click the link for "Company Profiles" for a list of all the profiles in the database. Search by keyword or browse alphabetically by company. Company Profiles give an overview of the history and performance of companies, a list of key employees, identify major products and services, a SWOT analysis, and name top competitors.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
Search public companies' government filings (annual and quarterly reports) by keyword, phrase, or stock ticker symbol.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and reference content (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks) on accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more.
Gale Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Over 460,000 company profiles, including 2,000 with deep links to related content and Refinitiv statistical data, and journal articles. Search across multiple data types from a single search box or use targeted search options by category: company, article, industry, and keyword.
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Directories (lists of names and contact information) including the Encyclopedia of Associations, Brands and their Companies. Market Share Reporter, Business Rankings Annual, Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory, and Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies.
Directories series:
Brands and their Companies
Business Rankings Annual
Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
Market Share Reporter
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Encyclopedia of Associations International
Encyclopedia of Associations National Orgs
Encyclopedia of Associations Regional, State, Local
National Directory of Non-profit Organizations
Directory of Special Libraries & Info Centers
Directory of Publications 7 Broadcast Media
Government Research Directory
International Research Centers Directory
National Faculty Directory
Publishers Directory
Research Centers Directory
Scholarships Fellowships & Loans
Statistics Sources
Passenger and Immigration lists Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Vivvix This link opens in a new window
Find out where and how your competitors are trying to reach their customers with U.S. advertising expenditures for companies and brands by channel (internet, TV, magazine, newspaper, radio, outdoor)
Ad$pender no longer exists and all Ad$pender users migrated to Vivvix - the new enhanced platform as of November 30th 2022.

Gonzaga subscription includes:
Media (13): Network TV, Cable TV, Syndication, Spot TV, Magazines, Sunday Magazines, Newspapers, Network Radio, National Spot Radio, Outdoor, Internet Display

Access: 3 Concurrent users with IP access

Time Period access: 5 rolling years

Markets: 103 DMA markets

Other Sources of Company Info

The organization’s annual report
10K reports (publicly available SEC filings)
Analysts’ reports from services such as Value Line (info on how to access through Spokane Public Library)
Newspaper and reputable magazine articles
The organization’s website
Promotional literature the organization makes available
The organization’s service and product offering

(Adapted from: Verlander, E. G. (2012). The practice of professional consulting. Center for Creative Leadership. http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/gonzaga/detail.action?docID=875832)