A Dictionary of Economics by John Black; Nigar Hashimzade (Editor); Gareth MylesAn authoritative and comprehensive dictionary containing clear, concise definitions of over 3,400 key economic terms, this A to Z covers all aspects of economics including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions from around the world. Fully revised to keep up-to-date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include terms relevant to the financial crisis, such as black swan, credit crunch, Northern Rock, and Iceland, making this dictionary the most up-to-date available. Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutionalacronyms and their affiliated websites, a list of Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites. As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences by William A. DarityThis 9-volume study of social sciences is a successor to the Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (ESS, 1930-1935) and the initial set of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (IESS, 1968) -- two groundbreaking MacMillan works that established standards for knowledge in social science research and practice (CHOICE, 2001). The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries. The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present.
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
The International Handbook of Competition by Manfred Neumann; Jurgen Weigand
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
This indispensable Handbook examines the interface of competition policy, competition law and industrial economics. The book aims to further our understanding of how economic reasoning and legal expertise complement each other in defining the fundamental issues and principles in competition policy. In specially commissioned chapters the book provides a scholarly review of economic theory, empirical evidence and standards of legal evaluation with respect to monopolization of markets, exploitation of market power and mergers, among other issues.
Taxation by Lynne Oats (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-05-16
Taxation is a subject of enquiry that cuts across a range of disciplines, including law, economics, politics, psychology, history and accountancy, to name a few. However, research into taxation as a social and institutional phenomenon – rather than as abstraction from the real world – is largely neglected. Taxation: A Fieldwork Research Handbook opens up new avenues of enquiry in the research of taxation by offering suggestions on how research might be conducted into actual tax practice, rather than abstract models. This book: Introduces tax as a field of enormous potential for research to all social scientists Explains the methodological issues relating to tax research Provides new opportunities for tax researchers to widen the scope of their enquiries Encourages researchers to think differently about this subject Given the importance of taxation to modern society, not only as a revenue raising mechanism, but also as a tool of governance used to influence social actors, this unique text is a vital read for any social science researcher interested in this subject.
Print Reference Titles
Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators by F. M. O'HaraDrawing on a wealth of contemporary accounts, including several first-person stories, Jo Ella Powell Exley follows Cynthia Ann-Parker--a descendant of Elder John Parker--last of the great Comanche war chiefs-- through her life in the Indian camp and eventually her recapture by her birth family. She also tells the dramatic story of Quanah Parker through childhood, battle, surrender, and reservation life. This narrative sets straight a story that has sometimes been distorted, offering new insight of Cynthia Ann Parker's last years, providing a complex picture of the "white" years of a woman who had matured among the Comanches since the age of nine. Among the documents from which Exley draws are a short autobiography of Daniel Parker, Rachel Parker Plummer's two narratives of her Indian captivity, James Parker's account of his search for Rachel and the other captives and several autobiographical accounts Quanah dictated to his friends. First published in 2001, Frontier Blood received the Summerfield G. Roberts award and the Rupert Richardson award.
Call Number: REF HC106.8 .O47 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-30
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law by Peter Newman (Editor)A great deal of economics is in fact about law - the functioning of markets, property rights and their enforcement, financial obligations and so on. Yet these legal aspects and problems are almost never addressed in the academic study of economics. At the same time a great deal of law, an increasing proportion of litigation for example, is about economics, and yet the drafting and administration of laws often ignore economic principle.The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law is uniquely placed by the quality, breadth and depth of its coverage to address this need for building bridges. Drawn from the ranks of academics and professional lawyers and economists in eight countries, the 340 contributors include the leading exponents of their specialities. Among them are Nobel laureates in economics and eminent legal scholars.The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law will become a benchmark for reference of the highest quality.
Call Number: REF K487.E3 .N49 1998
Publication Date: 1998-02-01
The New Palgrave by John Eatwell; Murray Milgate (Editor); Peter Newman (Editor)The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics brings together over 900 of the foremost economists, historians, and statisticians of our time, writing on a wide array of topics, from absolute and exchangeable value to zero-sum game. This extensive reference work focuses on economic theory and the over 1,200 entries cover the discipline in all its varied aspects: analytical, empirical, quantitative, and methodological. Over 700 biographical entries explore the lives of the leading minds in the field, including Friedman, Hotelling, Leontief, Samuelson, and von Newmann.
Includes online reference sources from selected dictionaries, directories, and encyclopedias for many subjects including business, history, law, literature, medicine, religion, science and the social sciences.