HONS 193: Spokane as Text: Local Primary Sources

Spokesman Review

• Current Web Site
  • Spokesman Review Current Web Access ON CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY. As long as you are on-campus, you can automatically use the entire Spokesman Review web site without having to have a paid account. There is no off-campus access.
• 1994-Present
  • ProQuest US NewsStream has the Spokesman from the present back to 1994
• Pre-1994
  • Gonzaga doesn't have access to the Spokesman Review historical archives. However, the Spokane Public Library does, and they have volunteered to give GU students a local library card so you can access it. To get a local card:
    • Spokane Public Library new Card Registration
    • Fill out the form and put down the GU address as the home address, 502 E Boone Ave, Spokane, WA 99258
    • After the form is complete you will receive a temporary card number. Save this number.
    • Call 509-444-5300, press 0 to talk to a staff member, and mention that you are a GU student and need to verify your card to get full borrowing privileges. The SPL staff have been instructed to upgrade GU students' cards. This will allow you access to the databases, including the Spokesman Archive
    • Spokesman Archive

Local Archives

• Foley Library’s Digital Archives and Collections: Digitized editions of the Gonzaga Bulletin, Spires Yearbook, and many images of Gonzaga’s campus from the late 19th Century to the present era.
• Spokane Public Library's Northwest Room Over a century's worth of local information on biography, house and neighborhood history, photos, and high school yearbooks has been digitized. The physical archive should be open for business, but double check.
• Spokane City/County Historic Preservation Office and the Spokane Historic Landmarks Commission The Spokane City/County Historic Preservation Office and the Spokane Historic Landmarks Commission are local government programs that share responsibility for the stewardship of historic and architecturally significant properties within the City of Spokane and unincorporated areas of Spokane County.
• Coeur d'Alene Press Digital Archives Includes The Coeur d'Alene Press archives, 1892-1953. Facsimiles - browsable but not really searchable. Also CDA yearbooks
• Gonzaga University Archives and Special Collections (UASC) The University Archives & Special Collections at Foley Library is open for onsite use by appointment. Email uasc@gonzaga.edu to set something up.
• Northwest Museum of Art and Culture (MAC) The MAC collects and and preserves cultural material that portrays the diverse experience of life in the Inland Northwest, past and present. This link directs you to the MAC's online archives.

Regional Archives

• Archives West (from Orbis-Cascade Alliance) Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.
• Washington State Library: Digital Collections and Resources Provides open access to digitized images, maps, documents, and newspapers related to the history of Washington State.
• Washington State Archives: Digital Archives The Washington State Digital Archives is dedicated to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value.
• Chronicling America: Washington Search Washington State historic newspaper pages from 1836-1963.

Other Local Information Resource Type Examples

• Depending on your topic of study, there may be organizations or interest groups who collect and/or share information. For example, if your topic is the Spokane River:
  • Avista Utilities’ site has an interactive map of the Spokane River that includes information about history, water quality, and recreation.
  • Spokane Riverkeeper's website is a wealth of conservation and protection information.
  • Spokane River Forum, another group focused on the river and managing its many stakeholders.