Skip to main content

Evidence-Based Practice: Filtered Information

This guide will help you work through the process of Evidence-Based Practice.

Filtered Information

Filtered information has already appraised the quality of studies and often make recommendations for practice. Clinical practice guidelines are considered filtered information. For more information about clinical practice guidelines, see Finding Clinical Practice Guidelines research guide.

Resources to find Filtered Information

Also called Point of Care EBP resources since they can be used while caring for the patient for quick answers.

Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analyses

Authors of a systematic review ask a specific clinical question, perform a comprehensive literature search, eliminate the poorly done studies and attempt to make practice recommendations based on the well-done studies. A meta-analysis is a systematic review that combines all the results of all the studies into a single statistical analysis of results. For more information about the Systematice Reviews/Meta-Analyses process, review this tutorial.

Consists of detailed, structured topic reviews of hundreds of articles. Teams of experts complete comprehensive literature reviews, evaluate the literature, and present summaries of the findings of the best studies. Published by the International Cochrane Collaboration.

Full-text database containing structured abstracts of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.

Filtered information can be found in many of the research databases used to find unfiltered information. When searching use the limits associated with each databases to find filtered information like systematic reviews, meta-analysis, etc.

Critically-Appraised Topics

Authors of critically-appraised topics have already evaluated and synthesized multiple research studies/articles for you.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of health care in the United States. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies.

BETs bring the evidence one step closer to the bedside, by providing answers to very specific clinical problems, using the best available evidence. Each Topic answers a carefully worded 3-part question, using a structured approach to finding and reviewing the literature.

A database of evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) maintained by the Canadian Medical Association.

A program is to support Ontario Canada nurses by providing them with best practice guidelines for client care.

NOTE: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

Filtered information can be found in many of the research databases used to find unfiltered information. When searching use the limits associated with each databases to find filtered information like guidelines, etc.

Critically-Appraised Individual Articles

Authors of critically-appraised individual articles have already evaluated and synopsized individual research studies/articles.

ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new clinical evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals.

Bandolier is an independent journal about evidence-based healthcare published in the UK. It includes “information about evidence of effectiveness (or lack of it), and put[s] the results forward as simple bullet points of those things that worked and those that did not: a bandolier with bullets. Information comes from systematic reviews, meta-analyses, randomised trials, and from high quality observational studies.”

Evidence-Based Medicine systematically searches a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research. Experts critically appraise the validity of the most clinically relevant articles and summarize them including commentary on their clinical applicability.