LibGuides: Law and Criminal Justice: Web Resources

Internet Resources for Law and Criminal Justice

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistical documents relating to criminal justice and links to other BJS publications, including "Key Crime and Justice Facts at a Glance."
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
A compilation of statistics from the Bureau of Justice which focuses on crime, criminals, judicial processing, corrections, etc.
Federal Bureau of Prisons
Provides a statistical overview of the federal prison system, including population, age, gender, ethnicity and sentencing statistics.Includes links to weekly population reports.

Find Law This link opens in a new window
A searchable directory of Internet legal resources

Guide to Law Online - Library ofCongress
A site for many aspects of U.S. law, including the U.S. constitution, federal legislation, U.S. Code, public laws, federal and state courts and other types of legal information.
Legal Information Institute - Cornell University
Provides access to online legal resources in federal, state and world law. Links are provided for the Constitution, U.S. Code, the C.F.R., the U.C.C. and Supreme Court cases, uniform laws and federal rules.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
A compilation of statistics from the Bureau of Justice which focus on crime, criminals, judicial processing, corrections, etc.at the state and federal levels.
Thomas (Library of Congress)
Provides access to current federal legislation, the Congressional Record, House and Senate bills and resolutions, public laws, roll call votes, treaties, the U.S. Code, appropriations legislation, presidential nominations and more.
United States Sentencing Commission
Provides general information on the USSC, including guidelines manuals and amendments, reports to congress, hearing transcripts and testimony as well as federal sentencing statistics organized by state and circuit courts.
Washington State Legislation and Laws
Provides access to the text of the Revised Code (RCW), the Administrative Code (WAC) as well as state legislation session laws (1997-) and the WA state register (1998-).An option for searching the text of bills, the RCW, WAC and the State Register is available.

Google Search

Use Google more effectively by searching a website or a type of website using a site: search. For example site:.edu criminology will only return results containing criminology from .edu websites. Likewise site:www.fbi.gov most wanted will only return results containing most wanted from the website www.fbi.gov.

Law and Criminal Justice: Web Resources

Internet Resources for Law and Criminal Justice

Google Search

RSS Feed from the Bureau of Justice Statistics