Skip to main content

Law and Criminal Justice: NTAS 101

University Archives & Special Collections

Available by appointment:
call 509-313-3873


Appointments can be scheduled for weekdays, evenings, and weekends.

Databases

Newspapers

Indian Land Law

Books

  • Cohen's handbook of federal Indian law - On 2-hour Reserve at Chastek Law Library

  • Early American Indian documents : treaties and laws, 1607-1789 - Chastek 3rd Floor KF8202 1979

  • Indian land cessions in the United States - Chastek 3rd Floor E93.R65 1971

  • For more books, browse the Chastek collection. Call number ranges: KF8210 and E98.

Electronic Resources

  • American Indian Law Review - Journal available via HeinOnline.

  • Tribal Court Clearinghouse - Curent tribal law information. Includes links to applicable codes, tribal court sites, federal agencies, and more.

Evaluating Web Resources

General Information to Consider

  • What is the document's URL?
  • What is the document's domain? (for example: .com, .edu, .gov, .mil, .net, .org)
  • Who is the author of the document?
  • What type of document is it?
  • When was the page last updated? Is it current?

Purpose

  • Who is the intended audience for this document?
  • What does the purpose of the document seem to be (e.g. inform, persuade, or entertain)?
  • How can you tell (on what basis did you come to above conclusions) ?

Authority

  • Does the document include a list of sources and references?
  • Does it state who is responsible for the accuracy of the information?

Objectivity

  • What is the purpose of the site?
  • What is the author's point of view?
  • Does the author's affiliation with the sponsoring institution suggest any possible bias?

Value

  • Does the site offer anything informative, unique, or insightful?
  • Is the site free of careless errors, mispelled words, and poor grammar?
  • Was the page worth visiting?

Archivist

David Kingma's picture
David Kingma
Contact:
University Archives & Special Collections

Third Floor, Foley Library
509-313-3814

Librarian

Kelly O'Brien Jenks's picture
Kelly O'Brien Jenks