Food & Cooking

Seasoned generously with literary wit,The Diner's Dictionaryis a veritable feast, tracing the origins and history of over 2,300 gastronomical words and phrases. John Ayto spreads across our table a veritable cornucopia, from common fruits and vegetables (apples, cherries, apricots, and broccoli, to name a few), to exotic foreign dishes such as gado-gado, nasi goreng, satay, and dashi, and even junk foods such as doughnuts, brownies, and candy. Thoroughly revised, the second edition boasts 1,000 new entries, including the word origins of affogato, bento, cava, goji berry, jalfrezi, mocktail, rugelach, vache qui rit, and zigni. In addition, Ayto has expanded the coverage of vocabulary from foreign cuisines, such as Thai, Korean, Vietnamese, and parts of South America. Throughout, Ayto provides fascinating capsule histories of the various foods. He tells us, for instance, that cantaloupe was introduced into Europe from Armenia and was apparently first cultivated at Cantaluppi, a former summer estate of the popes near Rome. We learn the ingredients of haggis and that the name of the Scandinavian drink "aquavit" ultimately derives from Latin aqua vitae or "water of life." From jambalaya and callaloo to arrowroot and shiitake,The Diner's Dictionaryis a food-lover's dream, filled with information and fascinating lore.

This leading dictionary contains over 6,000 entries covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health. Jargon-free definitions make this a valuable dictionary that clearly explains even the most technical of nutritional terms. From absinthe to zymogens, it covers types of food (including everyday foods and little-known foods, e.g. payusnaya), nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and key scientific areas including metabolism and genomics.

Seasoned throughout with literary wit and wisdom, this veritable feast of gastronomic words and phrases traces the origins and history of over 1,200 English terms for foodstuffs, dishes, and drinks. Previously published as The Diner's Dictionary and Gourmet's Guide, this includes hundreds ofilluminating quotations, ranging from the French writer, Misson, on seventeenth-century puddings, to Anthony Burgess on eating durians.Tuck into foods and drinks named after their place of origin, such as stilton, cheddar, or Dublin Bay prawns. Get your teeth stuck into such eponymous fruits and vegetables as Cox's Orange Pippin and Webb's Wonder. Or whet your appetite with wines named after their grape, including cabernetsauvignon and riesling. The book also covers the terminology of foreign cuisine that has become popular in Britain, such as Italian ciabatta.This edition also features a new introduction by Alan Davidson, author of theOxford Companion to Food.

This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world--including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places. From babka to baklava to the groundnut stew of Ghana, food culture can tell us where we've been--and maybe even where we're going. Filled with succinct, yet highly informative entries, the four-volume Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples. Thus, in addition to coverage on countries as disparate as France, Ethiopia, and Tibet, there are also entries on Roma Gypsies, the Maori of New Zealand, and the Saami of northern Europe. There is even a section on food in outer space, detailing how and what astronauts eat and how they prepare for space travel as far as diet and nutrition are concerned. Each entry offers information about foodstuffs, meals, cooking methods, recipes, eating out, holidays and celebrations, and health and diet. Vignettes help readers better understand other cultures, while the inclusion of selected recipes lets them recreate dishes from other lands. Entries covering over 150 countries and cultures from around the world More than 100 expert contributors Vignettes An index that facilitates cross-cultural comparison