LibGuides: History & Culture of Food in Italy : Audio/Visual Resources

GIF Library Quick Links

GIF Library Homepage & Catalog
Click here to go the GIF Library homepage, where you can search the Library's catalog and find other useful links.
Search World Cat
Search the collections of libraries worldwide.
InterLibrary Loan: ILLiad
Use ILLiad to request articles that you can't get in full-text via GU's databases.
Foley Library Guide to Food and Cooking
This related guide, while focusing on Foley Library's resources in Spokane, contains useful links to food blogs, Websites, cooking and nutrition information, and lots of other food-centered content!

Need Help?

If you need help with research, you can:

Come see GIF Library staff during open hours - we are always happy to help!
Email GIF Library staff during open hours at librarygif@gmail.com.
After hours, use the 'Ask a Librarian' widget below to chat directly with Foley Librarians in Spokane!

Chat with a Librarian

Art, Music & Video Databases

Looking for artwork depicting food, music written about food, or video clips about food? Try one of the databases below!

Films on Demand
Films On Demand provides streaming educational videos for the Gonzaga community 24/7. With access to almost 40,000 academic videos and over 300,000 segments, the content covers all fields, including business, the art and humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Music Online: American Music
An online music database offering over 7,000 albums relating to America’s past. Includes music from the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Prohibition, anti-war protests, the civil right’s movement, and more.
Music Online: Classical Music Library
An online music database featuring performers from more than 32 labels and over 35,000 tracks. Offers music from the Middle Ages to the present including solo vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
An online music library with a comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online. Content includes new releases of swing, avant-garde jazz, bebop, New Orleans jazz, vocal jazz, big band, and west coast jazz from performers such as Art Pepper, Frank Sinatra, Jabbo Smith, Respect Sextet, Red Norvo Combo, Cullen Offer Quartet, and more.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word and natural and human-made sounds from around the world.
Naxos Music Library
An online classical music library with streaming access to more than 50,000 CDs with more than 750,000 tracks.
**To use the mobile app, create an account with Naxos by clicking on Playlists, then use that account to login to the mobile app.
Oxford Art Online
Includes Grove Art Online and contains articles on all aspects of the visual arts, including biographies of important artists as well as a comprehensive art image collection.
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online, home of Grove Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.

Films on Demand Quick Search

Try searching in this streaming-video database for documentaries and other video clips about food and culture.

Note: If this widget does not take you to the GU Login screen, use the Films on Demand link in the box above.

CAMIO - Image Database - Food-themed images

Long before food and recipe themed periodicals existed, food was already a favorite subject of visual artists as evidenced in these still life images available in the CAMIO database by OCLC:

CAMIO still life images (with fruits and vegetables)

Still Life with Wine Bottles and Basket of Fruit

Still Life with Bread, Ham, Cheese, and Vegetables

Still Life with Fruit (Primary)

Fruit Still Life




	Copyright © 2010 OCLC. All Rights Reserved.\| About CAMIO \| Terms of Use \| How to Subscribe \| Contact Us

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.