Skip to main content

Manuscript Collections: Hopkins

Gerard Manley Hopkins Collection

Gerard Manley Hopkins
. . . My heart in hiding
Stirred for a bird, -- the achieve of, the mastery of the thing!
The Windhover, Gerard Manley Hopkins


The Gerard Manley Hopkins Collection originated with the research of Fr. Anthony Bischoff, S.J., for his Yale University doctoral dissertation awarded in 1952. The collection is one of the largest in the United States and among the most distinguished in the world devoted to this poet's work. It contains rare editions of Hopkins' poetry, letters, notes, and journals, as well as writings, letters and memoirs of his colleagues, such as Robert Bridges, Richard Watson Dixon, Coventry Patmore, and others.

The Library collects materials by or about Hopkins, either printed or in manuscript form. Supporting the research needs of scholars, the collection attempts to make readily available all materials relating to Hopkins and background information. This includes obtaining items either in the original or in facsimile, when it does not infringe upon copyright restrictions. The collection also includes Hopkins' scholars' research and manuscripts.

Hopkins Materials available digitally

Many of the Hopkins Collection owned by Gonzaga has been scanned and made digitally available through the university's Digital Collections at digital.gonzaga.edu.

Manuscript Collections

Dr. David A. Downes Papers, 1951-2006
The research papers and publications of Dr. David Downes, a Gerard Manley Hopkins Scholar.

Fr. Anthony Bischoff, S.J. Research Collection
In 1994, Gonzaga University acquired the research collection of Fr. Bischoff. There are several copies of G.M. Hopkins: An Inventory of the Anthony Bischoff Research Collection at Gonzaga University by Stephanie Plowman with an afterword by Dr. David Downes available at the Foley Center Library at Gonzaga University.

Requesting Materials

Please email uasc@gonzaga.edu or call 509-313-3873 to request archival materials or rare books. 

 

To request a high resolution image from our Digital Collections, please email uasc@gonzaga.edu with its identifying information and your contact information.