Skip to main content

Manuscript Collections: O'Sullivan

James O'Sullivan Papers

James O'Sullivan at Grand Coulee Dam, Oct. 1939

James O'Sullivan at Grand Coulee Dam, Oct. 1939


James O'Sullivan worked on various commissions and committees that built the Grand Coulee Dam in Washington State. The collection contains correspondence, newsclippings, photographs and documents of James O'Sullivan and his work on the Grand Coulee Dam. It contains topics related to water, land reclamation, and dam construction. The collection also includes research about the dam done by scholars.

Requesting Materials

Please email uasc@gonzaga.edu or call 509-313-3873 to request archival materials or rare books. 

 

To request a high resolution image from our Digital Collections, please email uasc@gonzaga.edu with its identifying information and your contact information.

Collection Inventory

Grand Coulee Dam under construction, Sept. 1937

Grand Coulee Dam under construction, Sept. 1937

 


 

The inventory below includes:

James O'Sullivan - Grand Coulee Project Material, Dec. 1936
Includes information on James O'Sullivan and his family members, Charles Leavy, James McGovern, the Columbia River Development League, the Columbia Basin Commission, the Columbia Basin Irrigation Project, and the Grand Coulee Project.

Grand Coulee Project Material, Jan. 1937 - Newspaper citation indexes
Includes information on the Grand Coulee Project, newsclippings on water topics, photographs, maps and charts, and newspaper citation indexes.

Grand Coulee Dam - Oversize
Includes information on the Grand Coulee Dam, the Columbia Basin Project, Reclamation Project, the Bonneville Power Administration, Harold Ickes, and periodicals. Also includes research about the dam done by George Sundborg and Michael Schultheis, materials about the dam collected by W. Gale Matthews, and Nat W. Washington, and includes the Columbia Valley Administration (proposed).