LibGuides: Linguistics and TESOL: Reference Shelf

Online Reference Sources

Dissertations and Theses @ Gonzaga University (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Online access to nearly 1600 Gonzaga master’s level theses and doctoral dissertations from 1976-present. Access includes a 24-page preview and the full-text online, if available.
Foley Center has a complete collection of dissertations and theses written for the Ph.D., EdD and Masters of Nursing programs. There are also some theses from early masters programs in the School of Arts and Sciences. Gonzaga theses and dissertations can be found in the library catalog under author, title and subject. The library usually owns two copies of each thesis, a circulating bound paper copy located in the general collection and a non-circulating microform copy located in Special Collections.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Edition, fully searchable. Also includes: Video Collection, Timelines, World Data Analyst, Compare Countries, World Atlas, Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
On Campus Guest Access
Communication - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
A communication focused subset of the larger Oxford Bibliographies resource which provides an extensive annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia for researchers to access the best available scholarship.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The OED provides the etymology, the origins and the historical development of the meaning of a word over time.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Limited to 5 simultaneous users for all Oxford Reference Online collections.

Oxford Reference Online brings together subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.

Foley eResources for the Classroom

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth reports written by journalists on congressional legislative issues on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Background cultural and sociological information on the countries and cultures of the world, targeted at K-12 students and educators.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Easy to use resources geared toward the K-12 audience including a wide range of research topics and two special collections specifically for history and literature.
K-12 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous searching of EBSCO Animals, MAS Ultra. Middle Search Plus and Primary search. All targeted to the K-12 audience.
On Campus Guest Access
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Highlights opposing viewpoints related to controversial and contemporary issues. Features viewpoints, articles from the news, journals and magazines, as well as audio and video clips. Includes relevant statistics, reference materials and websites.
SIRS Discoverer (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Aimed at elementary and middle school students, this database is an interactive tool for developing research, reading, writing and computing skills with articles and graphics from magazines, newspapers and government documents.

Featured Reference Titles

Dictionary of American Regional English REF PE2843.D52 1985

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

REFDESK BF76.7.P83 2010 (or at RESERVES, or find older editions in the STACKS)

Encyclopedias and Handbooks in Reference

Concise Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics REF P129.C586 2010

Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language REF P106.C5946 1997

Garner's modern American usage REF PE2827 .G37 2009

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics REF P29.I58 2003