LibGuides: Linguistics and TESOL: Web Resources

Internet Resources for TESOL

Here are some websites that we hope you will find useful. Be aware, however, that all websites can change, so be sure to evaluate any that you visit. Check out this guidance from UC Berkeley on evaluating web pages.

Center for Applied Linguistics
CAL is dedicated to providing a comprehensive range of research-based information, tools, and resources related to language and culture.
COCA
Corpus of Contemporary American English
Dave's ESL Cafe
The Internet's Meeting place for ESL + EFL teachers + students from around the World!
English Language (ESL) Learning Resources - UsingEnglish.com
Provides a large collection of English as a Second Language (ESL) tools & resources for students, teachers, learners and academics, covering the full spectrum of ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP subject areas.
Englishpage.com
Provides free online English lessons and ESL / EFL resources, with grammar tutorials and exercises.
IELTS
International English Language Testing System
NCELA
The National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition & Language Instruction Educational Programs, funded by the U.S. Department of Education, provides information on research and resources to support English language learners.
Open Access Databases
Find articles, music, video and more in these open access databases compiled by Foley librarians.
TOEFL
Test of English as a Foreign Language

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great way to search for academic articles across multiple disciplines. Change the preferences on your Google Scholar page to link to Foley Library's full-text holdings.

TESOL Professional Organizations

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
A global association for English language teaching professionals.TESOL offers members serial publications, books, and electronic resources on current issues, ideas, and opportunities in the field of English language teaching.
WAESOL
The Washington state affiliate of Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

Streaming Video Resources

Ambrose Digital This link opens in a new window
Complete catalog of the Ambrose Digital video library containing over 580 streaming videos with closed captioning. Included here is a collection of close-captioned streaming video of all 37 of Shakespeare's plays, as produced by the BBC.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand provides streaming educational videos for the Gonzaga community 24/7. With access to almost 40,000 academic videos and over 300,000 segments, the content covers all fields, including business, the art and humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy streaming video service provides access to 5000 titles in a wide range of disciplines from nursing and medicine to the social sciences and humanities. It also includes a large number of feature films, including the Criterion collections. Not every film is licensed; if you see a film you’d like to provide to your class, email Shenae Hennagir Barkas, hennagir-barkas@gonzaga.edu, to submit a request.

Sample Video From Films on Demand

The Cutting Edge Communications Basic English series combines linguistics, psychology and instructional design. The programs build understanding and help learners practice real life English. Click here to see other segments in this series.