LibGuides: ESL: Videos

Streaming Video Resources

Ambrose Digital This link opens in a new window
Complete catalog of the Ambrose Digital video library containing over 580 streaming videos with closed captioning. Included here is a collection of close-captioned streaming video of all 37 of Shakespeare's plays, as produced by the BBC.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand provides streaming educational videos for the Gonzaga community 24/7. With access to almost 40,000 academic videos and over 300,000 segments, the content covers all fields, including business, the arts and humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Internet Archive Moving Images This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1 million digital movies uploaded by archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy streaming video service provides access to 5000 titles in a wide range of disciplines from nursing and medicine to the social sciences and humanities. It also includes a large number of feature films, including the Criterion collections. Not every film is licensed; if you see a film you’d like to provide to your class, email Shenae Hennagir Barkas, hennagir-barkas@gonzaga.edu, to submit a request.

DVDs

The Foley Library has a growing collection of popular DVDs on the first floor near the Reference Desk available to be checked out. You can come in and browse the area which is arranged alphabetically by title.

You can also view these DVDs in the library. There are some DVD players that you can check out at the Circulation Desk to plug into your laptop, or you can reserve one of our study rooms that have media viewing equipment.

Sample Video from Media Education Foundation

Peter Elbow: On Writing

ESL: Videos

Streaming Video Resources

DVDs

Sample Video from Media Education Foundation

Sample Video From Films on Demand