Skip to Main Content

Communication and Leadership Studies

We designed this research guide for students in the COML program at Gonzaga. You'll find the materials, search tools, and other resources you need to start your research. Please contact your librarian if you need any assistance.

Finding Journal Articles in library databases

Using Library Search

Use Library Search to find journal articles in the library databases.  This search retrieves full-text articles in many of the Foley databases and is a good starting point for your research. If you want to do a more comprehensive search, you can search in any of the recommended databases.

Finding Dissertations

Link Google Scholar to Foley Library Resources

Google Scholar crawls the open web looking for scholarly publications it can surface when you search https://scholar.google.com/

Even though the resources Google Scholar finds are from the open web, they are often behind paywalls. But you can connect Google Scholar to Foley Library so that you can easily get to any resources you find on Google Scholar that the library has access to in one of our databases.

  1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/
  2. Click "Sign in" in the upper right hand corner of the screen
    1. You can sign in using a personal Google/Gmail account if you have one, OR
    2. Sign in with your Gonzaga.edu account
  3. Once you're signed in, on the Google Scholar search page, click the hamburger menu in the upper left hand corner hamburger menu
  4. Click "Settings"
  5. Click "Library links"
  6. Search "Gonzaga" in the search box
  7. Check the box next to “Gonzaga University Foley Library – Full Text @ Gonzaga”
  8. Click "Save"

When you search Google Scholar, look for the Full Text @ Gonzaga link to go directly to the resource in one of our library collections.

Accessibility | Proxy Logout