A research guide designed to introduce you to the field of philosophy. You'll find the materials, search tools, and other resources you need to start your research. If you need any assistance, please contact your librarian.
Includes online reference sources from selected dictionaries, directories, and encyclopedias for many subjects including business, history, law, literature, medicine, religion, science and the social sciences.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers includes real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Environment Complete is a multidisciplinary database providing indexing and full-text access to a wide variety of journals and other publications in the fields of agriculture, ecology, biology, environmental law, public policy, and related fields.
GreenFILE is a large collection of indexing and abstracts for scholarly, government, and general-interest publications covering all aspects of human impact on the environment, including climate change, sustainable agriculture, green building, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
A database of the US Department of Agriculture’s National Agriculture Library, comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, technical reports, patents, software, and audiovisual material on the topic of agriculture dating back to 1970.
Kanopy streaming video service provides access to 5000 titles in a wide range of disciplines from nursing and medicine to the social sciences and humanities. It also includes a large number of feature films, including the Criterion collections. Not every film is licensed; if you see a film you’d like to provide to your class, email Shenae Hennagir Barkas, firstname.lastname@example.org, to submit a request.
Speed - the obsession of the modern world - is determining what people should eat and how. Traditional foods are at risk of disappearing forever. An international eco-gastronomic movement known as Slow Food champions the protection of traditional culture, the environment and biodiversity while encouraging regional production, food education and pleasure. For these passionate and dedicated food lovers, sustainability, community and lifestyle are as important as seasonality, quality and taste.
Predictions are that by the year 2025 the world's population will double. That means agriculture will have to find ways to feed twice as many people as it does today. But can we feed the earth without destroying it? Food for Tomorrow explores the core issues: Sustainability, Soil Fertility, Water Resources, Forest resources, Small Holder Livestock, Biodiversity, Integrated Pest Management, Research.
What's the story of our food? Where did it come from and how did it get to us? What is the impact of the food choices we make? Nourish vividly illustrates how what we choose to eat - individually and as a society - has an effect around the world, and how making more wholesome choices can improve the health of the environment, our communities and ourselves.
Films On Demand provides streaming educational videos for the Gonzaga community 24/7. With access to almost 40,000 academic videos and over 300,000 segments, the content covers all fields, including business, the art and humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Eighteen percent of greenhouse gasses allegedly come from livestock rearing, and animal rights groups have documented cruelty and abuses in mass meat production. Does cultured meat—which numerous scientists in various countries are working on—open up real perspectives for feeding a rising population and for fighting pollution or does it represent a false hope? Will the environmental arguments put forward in its favor be enough to convince consumers to eat cultured meat? Is the current commercial success of the first meat-substitute products available on the market heralding a change in what we eat? This documentary, shot in the U.S., France, and Holland, will change the way you see steak—forever!
Open Sesame: The Story of Seeds illuminates what is at stake in the conflict between hybrid and open-pollinated seed systems. Providing the basis for everything from fabric to food to fuels, seeds are as essential to life as the air we breathe and the water we drink. In the past, seeds were communal – a shared resource not unlike the water we drink. A century ago things started to change. Now large corporations claim seeds as intellectual property, restricting their use and interfering with the livelihoods of open-pollination farmers. This documentary introduces a range of individuals whose lives center around seeds. Farmers, renegade gardeners, passionate seed savers, artists, and activists all work to plant the seeds of information and inspiration within this film.
"Eat Food. Not Too Much. Mostly Plants." With those seven words, journalist Michael Pollan distills a career's worth of reporting into a prescription for reversing the damage being done to people's health by today's industrially-driven Western diet. Pollan offers a clear answer to one of the most urgent questions of our time: What should I eat to be healthy?
In a world full of sickness and death, can eating a completely raw vegan diet cure all? In this educational and entertaining documentary, raw vegans argue that health and youth start from within and eating only foods that are alive (raw) will prevent disease